Greetings from Director General

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Dear friends,

Significant changes are sweeping across the world: in the way people live and relate to each other; in the types of leaders we choose; in the periods of economic boom and bust; and in the changes to our climate. Against this uncertain backdrop, Oxfam has to confront the question of how best we can help bring an end to poverty in the world. Unfortunately, this is a very timely question as over 20 million people in the Horn of Africa and the Middle East are grappling with unprecedented threats to their lives, safety and food security, especially after a famine was declared in parts of South Sudan early in 2017. The challenge of bringing about viable relief and lasting solutions to these millions of lives who suffer from disasters caused by a combination of factors – droughts, climate change, and conflicts – is more complex than ever.

On top of this, the latest Oxfam global inequality report released in 2017 finds that eight men own the same amount of wealth as half of the world’s population. What we cannot accept is not only the figures, but the damaging social cost of acute inequality which leads to entrenched poverty, discrimination, violence, conflicts, and social upheaval. Oxfam remains determined to tackle the worsening trend of global inequality and the instability it is causing by working with others to demand a human economy which leaves no one behind. That is why public engagement as well as influencing policies and business practices form a significant part of Oxfam’s work, in addition to services delivery.

To achieve this, we need a great deal of imagination, creativity, intelligence, dedication and resilience – in all areas of our work. With these, we are better equipped to empower poor and vulnerable people to achieve greater equality and overcome poverty, and make them less vulnerable to disasters. We need to better mobilise resources for sustainable poverty alleviation programmes and garner support from all sectors of society to bring about an end to poverty.

The celebration of the 40th anniversary of Oxfam Hong Kong (OHK) in 2016 was a rewarding and rejuvenating occasion, thanks to the support of our many partners, supporters and staff. The anniversary reminded us of what we have achieved since the day OHK was founded by a small group of volunteers who shared a common mission to do something to help tackle poverty. I hope we have exceeded their initial expectations having reached millions of people in poverty around the world, including Hong Kong, over the past four decades. Like many people turning 40, we are mature, strong and confident, at the top of our game and about to enter the most productive and influential stage of our life.

We at OHK cannot achieve our mission without the support of all stakeholders – donors and partners, the Council, staff, volunteers, decision makers, opinion leaders, and innovators who are emerging from the young generation in our community. We need to work together with you all to map out how we can eradicate extreme poverty everywhere by 2030 to achieve Goal 1 of the United Nations Sustainable Goals (SDGs). We cannot do this alone, so let us continue working hand in hand to create a World without Poverty!

Trini Leung

Director General

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

各位朋友,

世界正急速改变。无论是人们生活和连系的方式,选举中胜出的领袖类型,经济繁荣和萧条的更替,以至地球气候等都在不断变化中。在这充满变化和未知的世界中,「如何能最有效地解决世界贫穷现象?」已成为乐施会必须回答的问题。2017年春天,位于非洲之角的南苏丹宣布进入饥荒状态,干旱、气候变化和冲突等多个因素所造成的灾害,正威胁非洲之角和中东多国共2,000多万人的生命,他们的人身及粮食安全面临前所未有的威胁。要为他们面对的困难找到切实可行又可持续的解决办法,我们需要克服比以往任何时候都更复杂的挑战。

根据乐施会于2017年初发表的最新一份有关财富分配不均的报告,全球八位最富有的富翁所拥有的财富,相当于全球较穷一半人口财富的总和,这数字令人难以接受,而令人更难以接受的是,数字背后代表的不公义现象:极端贫穷、歧视、暴力、冲突、社会动荡。全球贫富悬殊的情况持续恶化,并引致不稳定局面。乐施会将一如既往,为解决这困局而努力。我们正与同路人一起推动让所有人受惠的人本经济概念。因此,除继续为贫穷社区提供支援外,促进公众参与,影响政策及改变营商手法亦是我们的主要工作。

面对当前的挑战,我们需要更具想像力、更富创意、更有智慧,以及表现出更坚定不移的态度。唯有做到这些,我们才可以赋权贫穷及弱势人士,使他们有力争取平等、克服贫穷,及具备抗灾的能力。未来,我们需要更有效地运用资源去推动可持续的扶贫项目,并争取社会各阶层的支持,一起为结束贫穷而努力。

去年,我们举办连串40周年庆祝活动。因着夥伴机构、支持者及员工的付出,活动取得美满成绩。40年前,数名抱共同信念、要为消灭贫穷而尽点力的义工,走在一起组成乐施会。40年来,我们为世界上数以百万计的贫穷人,包括本地的贫穷人带来帮助。庆祝活动提醒我们多年来取得的成就和未来的挑战,我希望这些成积已超越创办人起初的期望。40乃是人的不惑之年。面对下一个发展阶段,我相信乐施会亦像很多步入不惑之年的人一样,将会变得更成熟,有更强的力量及更大的信心去使工作做得更有效益,能发挥很大的影响力。

若没有捐赠者、夥伴机构、董事会、员工、义工、制定决策者、意见领袖,以及充满创意的年轻一代的支持,乐施会将不会达致到我们的愿景,在联合国订下于2030年实现的17项可持续发展目标中,第一项就是消除极端贫穷。为了要实现这目标,我们需要你们的同行。更希望你会与我们并肩作战,为实现「无穷世界」的愿景而付出努力。

乐施会总裁

梁咏雩