SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

(Oxfam/ Tai Ngai Lung)

Oxfam works for a fairer society in Hong Kong and all over the world. We believe that an affluent city like Hong Kong should guarantee a decent life for all citizens. Yet, according to’ Hong Kong Poverty Situation Report 2015’, almost 14.3 per cent of Hong Kong’s population – nearly 1 million people – lived in poverty in 2015. According to the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), Hong Kong has the widest gap between rich and poor of the 38 ‘very high human development’ economies in the world.

Oxfam believes that the sign of success should be a narrowing of the gap between rich and poor people, and that the success of a city should not depend on exploiting people at the lowest end of the economy. In a fair society, nobody should be left behind in growth, development and prosperity.

Oxfam has been active in Hong Kong since the 1970s and set up its domestic programme in 1996, supporting local organisations through project support and funding. Through the years, we have focused on the rights of ethnic minorities, on intergenerational poverty, as well as on working and elderly poverty. Oxfam also works to influence companies to improve their policies and practices and avoid harming people and the environment. We released research on the CSR performance of Hang Seng Index constituents, advocated for regulatory bodies to raise ESG reporting standards. Furthermore, through promoting CSR, Oxfam aims to encourage ethical consumption decisions and investment choices.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

(Oxfam/ Tai Ngai Lung)


一如在世界各地,乐施会在香港也致力为创造一个更公平的社会而努力。我们相信像香港般富裕的城巿,应当保障所有公民都能维持合理的生活水平。

然而据政府2016年发布的《2015年香港贫穷情况报告》,2015年香港几乎有14.3%人口,近100万人生活在贫困之中;根据联合国发展规划署报告,香港是全球38个「极高人类发展」经济体系当中,贫富差距最大的地区。

乐施会相信成功的象征,应当是贫富距离逐渐收窄;一个城巿的成就,不应建筑在对经济最底层的剥削之上。在一个较公平的社会,任何人都不应被摒在成长、发展和繁荣之外。

乐施会自1970年代便开始关注本地的贫穷问题,并于1996年成立香港项目,透过项目支援及拨款,支持本地团体。多年来我们持续关注少数族裔及跨代贫穷问题、在职及长者贫穷等议题,并推动政策倡议。另一方面,乐施会又大力推动企业实践企业社会责任,如进行恒生指数成份股公司企业社会责任调查,并推动当局加强监管本港上市公司《环境、社会及管治》的披露等使企业担起应负的社会责任,给予弱势生产者合理的待遇,以助灭贫。