About us

Work against poverty

Oxfam is a world-wide development organization that mobilizes the power of people against poverty.

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

ABOUT OXFAM

Oxfam is an international confederation of 20 (1) independent organisations, with an aim to work together for greater impact on the international stage to reduce poverty and injustice. The name ’Oxfam’ is derived from the Oxford Committee for Famine Relief founded in Britain in 1942.

Oxfam works together with partners and local communities in more than 90 countries to combat poverty and provide relief support. We implement long-term development programmes in vulnerable communities. We are also part of a global movement, campaigning with others to end unfair trade rules, demand better health and education services for all, and to combat climate change.

ABOUT OXFAM HONG KONG

Oxfam Hong Kong dates back to 1976 when volunteers joined hands to open a shop for second-hand goods in Hong Kong and raise funds for anti-poverty projects around the world. Some of our first initiatives in the 1970s and 80s were to advocate for justice for Vietnamese refugees who fled to Hong Kong during the Vietnam War, and to help save lives in Ethiopia during the 1984 famine.

We implemented the first Mainland China programme in Guangdong province in 1987. The Oxfam China Development Fund was subsequently established in 1992. Since then, we have been dedicated to fighting poverty and responding to emergencies in the Mainland.

We believe in an integrated approach to eradicate poverty. As such, we advocate for policy changes to address the root causes of poverty while proactively supporting disaster relief and humanitarian crises. We also implement development and education programmes in impoverished areas. For over three decades, Oxfam Hong Kong has partnered with millions of underprivileged people to alleviate poverty in more than 70 countries/states around the world. We have 100,000 regular donors from the general public. Their donations are the major source of income that sustains our ability to achieve the ultimate goal of a poverty-free world.

In recent years, our work has focused on local poverty, advocating for pro-poor policies in Hong Kong. As a result of our efforts, the Hong Kong SAR government established the Commission on Poverty in 2012, and subsequently announced an official poverty line in Hong Kong. Oxfam has also been a strong advocate of a minimum wage law, which was first established in Hong Kong in 2011 after decades of efforts.

The Oxfam Trailwalker, a 100km hiking marathon founded in Hong Kong in the 1980s, continues to be one of our most notable partnership fundraising events. The success of this fundraising event has not only raised awareness of poverty and injustice, but has also attracted ten additional countries to organise their own Oxfam Trailwalker events.


(1) Including 18 affiliates and 2 observer affiliates

关于乐施会

消除贫穷

乐施会是一个国际扶贫发展机构,旨在推动民众力量,消除贫穷。

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

关于乐施会

乐施会是由20 (1)个独立组织组成的国际联会,旨在共同推行消除贫困和社会不公的工作,在国际上发挥更大影响力。乐施会的英文名字源自1942年成立的「牛津饥荒救灾委员会」。

乐施会与夥伴一起在超过90个国家的基层社区开展扶贫发展和救灾工作。除了在脆弱社区推行长期发展项目,同时开展全球倡议运动,致力于改变不公平的贸易规则、提倡改善与普及医疗和教育服务,以及推动应对气候变化等。

关于香港乐施会

香港乐施会的历史可追溯到1976年,当时一群义工一起开设二手商店,为世界各地的扶贫工作筹款。在1970、1980年代,乐施会初期的工作包括倡议以公义原则对待因越战来港的越南难民,以及在1984年向埃塞俄比亚的饥荒灾民伸出援手。

1987年,乐施会在中国内地开展工作,于广东省推行首个项目。1992年设立中国发展基金。自此,乐施会一直致力于在中国内地开展扶贫和灾害救援工作。

乐施会相信,综合项目手法是消除贫穷的有效方法。因此,我们透过政策倡议,从根源上解决贫穷问题,积极开展救灾减灾和人道救援工作,同时在贫困地区推行发展和教育项目。香港乐施会在超过70个国家与数百万贫穷人携手工作。乐施会有超过10万名定期捐款者,他们的捐款是乐施会的主要收入来源,支持乐施会实现无穷世界的终极目标。

近年,香港乐施会的工作聚焦于本地贫穷问题,倡议香港政府推行多项扶贫政策。在我们的积极争取下,香港特区政府于2012年重设扶贫委员会,随后亦制定官方贫穷线。经过多年的努力,乐施会成功倡议香港为最低工资立法,最终香港于2011年首次设立法定最低工资。

乐施毅行者是1980年代在香港举办的100公里徒步远足活动,是乐施会最着名的筹款活动之一。这项活动的成功之处,不仅在于加深公众对贫穷和不公义问题的认识,更拓展至10个国家,在当地筹办乐施毅行者活动。

 


(1) 包括18个正式成员和2 个观察成员

关键词: 乐施会, 使命, 愿景