Vision and Mission

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Vision

Imagine a world free of poverty and related injustices, where everyone enjoys wellbeing and rights. At Oxfam, we understand that injustice and structural exploitation are the root causes of poverty. To address these issues, we adopt a holistic, practical, innovative and sustainable approach in our advocacy, research, education, development and humanitarian relief programmes. Across the globe, we work closely with underprivileged women and men, partner organisations, fieldworkers, volunteers, governments and local communities to achieve the goal of a ’World without Poverty’.

Mission

Poverty is a multi-dimensional issue, which should be addressed in an integrated manner. At Oxfam, we adopt a three-pronged approach:

One-programme integrated approach

We believe in an integrated approach to address poverty issues beyond simply distributing food and water to those in need. All units within Oxfam work closely together to create synergies and maximise the impact of our global movement for change. We campaign, advocate and raise awareness of poverty issues while educating and empowering the underprivileged to help them sustain their livelihoods independently. We also provide relief support and rehabilitation assistance during natural disasters and human conflicts. We trust that poverty can be eradicated through individual and institutional change, as well as community development.

Rights-based approach

Oxfam believes everyone is entitled to his or her basic rights to eliminate the injustice of poverty. The underprivileged in developing countries suffer from poverty because they are deprived the assertion of their rights. Through advocacy, research and lobbying efforts, Oxfam influences governments to implement policies to protect the basic rights of the underprivileged. We believe advocacy is the driving force to enact change to address structural injustice.

Partnership approach

We believe poverty will only be eradicated through creating synergies between all stakeholders. We understand the needs of the underprivileged and identify the gaps where other stakeholders can contribute their support. In practice, we work hand-in-hand with the underprivileged, donors, fieldworkers, local organisations, governments and the community at large to achieve the ultimate goal of a poverty-free future.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

愿景

想像一个没有贫穷和不公的世界,每个人都能享有美好生活。乐施会认为,贫穷源于不公平和结构性因素。为解决贫穷问题,我们透过全面、务实、创新和可持续的工作手法,开展倡议、研究、教育、发展和人道救援项目。我们与世界各地的弱势社群、夥伴团体、前线工作者、义工、政府部门和基层社区携手合作,共同创造一个「无穷世界」。

使命

贫穷是一个复杂且多样的议题,消除贫穷需要综合的解决手法。乐施会采用三管齐下的方法:

综合项目手法

乐施会运用综合的工作手法,解决贫穷问题,而不单是向贫穷人提供衣食所需。乐施会内部紧密合作,团结力量,开展全球运动,推动世界改变。乐施会开展政策倡议及遊说工作,提升公众对贫穷议题的认知,同时向弱势社群赋权及传授知识,令他们能够自助自强,维持生计。我们亦会向受自然灾害和战争冲突影响的人群,提供紧急援助,并支援他们日后的重建及生计恢复工作。乐施会相信,通过个人改变、制度变革及社区发展,终有一天,贫穷可以绝迹世上。

以权利为本

乐施会相信,每一个人都应有消除贫穷及社会不公的基本权利。生活在发展中国家的弱势及贫困人因为权力被剥夺,才饱受贫穷困扰。通过倡议、研究和遊说工作,乐施会影响政府政策,保障贫穷人的基本权利,我们相信倡议工作是解决结构性不公问题的强大推动力。

夥伴同行

乐施会认为,各方必须共同努力,发挥协同效应,方可消除贫穷。乐施会了解贫穷人的需要,向贫穷人提供支援,透过与多方协作,在扶贫工作上互相补足。在实践过程中,我们与贫穷人、捐款人、前线工作者、基层组织、政府部门和社区携手合作,实现消除贫困的终极目标。

关键词: 乐施会