Use of donations

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

At a glance

  • Monthly donations from Oxfam Partners accounted for 64.7% of our total revenue, and amounted to HK$156.8 million – an increase of 1%, or HK$2 million – from 2015/16.
  • Income from Oxfam Trailwalker amounted to HK$39.8 million, while that from the Oxfam Rice Event reached HK$3.8 million.
  • Overall programme expenditure represented 84.9% of our total expenditure, or HK$247.5 million – an increase of 9%, or HK$19.9 million – from the previous year.
  • The drop in reserves – now at HK$119.5 million – was a result of the significant investment that was made in our programme and advocacy work.
  • Management and administration costs, and fundraising and marketing costs amounted to HK$9.6 million and HK$32.5 million, representing 3.3% and 11.1% of our total expenditure respectively.

Oxfam Hong Kong has always relied on individuals – it was volunteers who set up the agency in 1976 in Hong Kong, and it is individuals who keep it running: staff, volunteers, campaigners and donors.

Over 90 per cent of our funds come from the public. In the 2016/17 fiscal year, public donations reached close to HK$233 million, or 96 per cent of our total income.

Oxfam Hong Kong aims to allocate as much funds as possible to programmes. In the 2016/17 fiscal year, overall programme expenditure amounted to HK$247 million, representing 84.9 per cent of total expenditure. Management and administrative cost represented 3.3 per cent while fundraising and marketing costs represented 11.1 per cent. Together with all our supporters, we implemented a total of 726 projects in 37 countries and regions, and more than 10.4 million people were benefited from our poverty alleviation work last year.

Most of our donors are individuals, and many give what they can every month. These 100,000-plus monthly donors provide us with a high degree of autonomy, flexibility, integrity and stability, and we provide them with regular updates, reports, invitations to workshops, and an annual gathering with our staff.

Oxfam Hong Kong does not receive regular funding from the Hong Kong SAR Government. We only ever receive funds for specific emergency efforts, and we apply for those funds from the Hong Kong SAR Government Disaster Relief Fund (DRF). During the 2016/17 financial year, the DRF granted us a total of HK$4.5 million to provide emergency relief to flood victims in Assam, India; and Guizhou and Hunan Provinces in the Mainland.

Oxfam Hong Kong is also not a subsidiary of an international body. We are an independent development and relief agency based in Hong Kong. We do not receive regular funding from any overseas headquarters. Funding support from Oxfam affiliates generally only comes for specific projects.

To be transparent and accountable, we have prepared this FAQ on how Oxfam Hong Kong uses donations. We hope it is clear and helpful.

If you have questions, please contact us at 3120 5000 or ds@oxfam.org.hk .

 

Financial Highlights

These financial highlights are based on Oxfam Hong Kong's financial accounts for the year ended 31 March 2017. The full audited financial statement by KPMG could be downloaded here. All figures are in Hong Kong dollars.

 

FAQ

1) How does Oxfam Hong Kong make sure that donations are properly spent?

A. For programmes with poor people in Hong Kong, Mainland China and overseas, monitoring and evaluation procedures are an important part of an integrated cycle of activity.

 

  • The cycle includes a needs assessment, project plan development, an appraisal, implementation, monitoring, and the evaluation of projects.
  • Each stage is conducted by colleagues of Oxfam, together with our partners and the beneficiaries themselves.
  • External consultants evaluate the impact as needed.
  • Professionals from like-minded organisations help conduct peer reviews as needed.
  • Financial accountability procedures are managed by colleagues at our field offices in several countries and by the colleagues at the head office in Hong Kong.

 

B. When we make a public appeal for a specific humanitarian disaster, after deducting the direct fundraising cost, all donations raised from the public go to the urgent work at hand.

  • When Oxfam Hong Kong responds to an emergency and makes a public appeal, we set up a separate bank account. We cover core operational costs from our central funds. After deducting the direct fundraising cost for the appeals, all donations raised go to relief and rehabilitation projects, including the respective programme monitoring and management costs.
  • A programme management system ensures that the money is spent on the emergency: from supplying urgently needed relief items to rebuilding homes and community infrastructures and restoring people livelihoods, all in a sustainable way. This management system includes an assessment of needs, appraisals of project proposals, the monitoring of the expenditure, and the preparation of progress reports. One practical policy in place is that relief items are sourced as locally as possible – this supports the local people affected by the crisis and reduces transportation and other logistical costs.
  • Auditor's reports are produced for any grant contributed by the DRF. Unspent funds granted by the fund are returned to the government.
  • Should there be any unused donations from the emergency appeal, Oxfam Hong Kong will use the funds for other emergency, rehabilitation or community development work in other countries and regions.

 

C. Oxfam Hong Kong's governing bodies – the Council and Executive Committee – are made up of community members who volunteer their time and expertise.

These community members guide our staff in implementing projects and in monitoring the expenditure of the projects. Our colleagues report to the Council and Executive Committee via unit reports, financial statements and audit reports.

The Council approves and monitors year plans, budgets, and mid-year and annual financial reviews, sets guidelines on fundraising and grants, and monitors whether these guidelines are being observed; the Executive Committee, appointed by the Council, makes executive decisions.

D. Our Reserve Policy requires us to hold general reserves equivalent to three to six months of total unrestricted expenditures to provide leeway for any significant and unexpected downturn in revenues, to ensure that programmes can continue as planned.

E. Oxfam Hong Kong is legally registered in Hong Kong and must abide by Hong Kong law. Our programmes launched elsewhere must also follow the laws of the respective countries.

2) How much of my dollar goes to poor people?

In 2016/17, Oxfam Hong Kong’s administrative costs stood at 3.3 per cent and fundraising and marketing costs at 11.1 per cent.

Oxfam Hong Kong has many practices in place to keep administrative and fundraising costs as low as possible, such as:

  • We encourage our donors to donate monthly; this reduces appeals work by a lot and can keep both fundraising and administrative costs to a minimum.
  • Thousands of volunteers also donate their time; they do a significant part of our data input, translate many texts, and help run our second-hand shop. Over the past year, close to 6,000 volunteers helped out at the Oxfam Trailwalker and Oxfam Rice Event.
  • We pool resources with other Oxfam affiliates for major emergencies, large-scale programmes, and global advocacy (such as against climate change).
  • We always seek free or discounted space in newspapers, magazines, the MTR, tunnel crossings, shops, and so on to minimise promotional costs. We seek sponsors for the printing of materials.

 

3) What constitutes your administration cost?

Oxfam Hong Kong complies with the Oxfam Confederation Financial Standards and the International Non-Governmental Organisations Accountability Charter. Management and administration expenses contributed to the organisation’s governances, financial management and information technology systems, audit and legal services.

4) What about audits?

External Audit

The financial statements of Oxfam Hong Kong are audited in accordance with the Hong Kong Standards on Auditing, issued by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Each year, our external auditor forms an independent opinion on whether the financial statements give a true and fair view of the state of Oxfam’s affairs, and of its surplus/deficit of income over expenditure and cash flows, in accordance with the Hong Kong Financial Reporting Standards. It also forms an opinion on whether these have been properly prepared in accordance with the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance.

Internal Audit

Oxfam has established an internal audit team aimed at providing assessments of its internal processes. The establishment of the internal audit team enables Oxfam to evaluate and improve the effectiveness of its risk management practices, control framework and governance processes. The internal audit team reports directly to the Finance and Audit Committee of the Council, which is chaired by an honorary treasurer.

5) How can I learn more about Oxfam's use of funds?
Oxfam Hong Kong communicates details of its use of funds through various channels, such as:

  • Our publications (annual reportsOxfam Express and the Oxfam Blog)
  • Our main web site and minisites (e.g. that for Oxfam Trailwalker)
  • Articles in the mass media
  • Direct mailing materials 
  • Trips to project sites for supporters (e.g. volunteers, Trailwalkers, and monthly, major and corporate donors)  
  • The Oxfam Supporters Gathering (for donors and volunteers)

 

6) Are my contributions tax-deductible? (Applicable to Hong Kong residents only.)
To encourage donations, the Hong Kong SAR Government exempts up to 35 per cent of assessable income or profits on donations to recognised charitable organisations. Oxfam Hong Kong is one of these organisations. If your total donation (in money terms) for the year exceeds HK$100, your contribution(s) to Oxfam Hong Kong are tax-deductible as per the Inland Revenue Ordinance.

公眾捐款的運用

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

摘要

  • 每月定額捐款的樂施之友全年捐款額達1.568億港元,佔總籌款額的64.7%,較2015 /16年微升1%,實質增加200萬港元。
  • 樂施毅行者的籌款額達3,980萬港元,樂施米義賣大行動籌款總額達380萬港元。
  • 項目支出總額為2.475億港元,佔總支出的84.9%,較2015/16年度增加1,990萬港元,升幅為9%。
  • 因為在項目和倡議工作方面的資金投入增加,儲備減少至1.195億港元。
  • 管理及行政開支為960萬港元,佔全年總開支的3.3%。籌款開支為3,250萬港元,佔全年總開支的11.1%。

樂施會一直有賴公眾人士的支持:在1976年,一群義工在香港成立了這個機構,機構得以繼續運作,不論是職員、義工或捐款者,絕大部分是以個人身分參與的普羅大眾。

樂施會超過九成收入來自廣大市民。在2016/17財政年度,我們獲得近2.33億港元的公眾捐款,相等於整體收入的 96%。 

樂施會盡量把收入投放於扶貧項目中。在2016/17年,我們的項目支出總額為2.47億港元,佔全年總開支84.9%。管理及行政開支佔3.3%,籌款及市務開支佔11.1%。有賴捐款人的支持及信任,我們得以在全球37個國家及地區推行了726個項目,讓超過1,043萬貧窮人的生活得到改變。

樂施會一直自行籌募所有經費。樂施會主要以個人為主要籌款對象,這樣可以讓機構更獨立、靈活而穩定地運作。超過十萬計的每月捐款者,是樂施會得以推行各個項目的強大後盾,我們亦會隨時回應他們的查詢、定期提供工作報告,並會邀請他們參加工作坊及周年聚會,與他們建立更緊密的聯繫。 

樂施會並沒有獲得政府固定撥款。我們會為個別的緊急救援項目,向香港特區政府申請賑災基金。在2016/17年度,香港特別行政區政府賑災基金撥給本會450萬港元,支持印度阿薩姆邦水災的緊急救援工作,支援內地湖南及貴州發生的洪災。

樂施會也不是任何國際機構的附屬機構。樂施會是獨立的發展及救援機構,建基於香港。我們不會獲得任何海外總部的定期撥款,其他樂施會國際聯會成員亦只會按情況需要,就特定的一次性項目撥款資助香港樂施會的扶貧項目。 

樂施會非常重視透明度及問責性。下文以答問形式,簡介樂施會怎樣運用公眾的捐款,確保善用一分一毫。

公眾查詢請致電樂施會捐款熱線:3120 5000或電郵ds@oxfam.org.hk

 

財務摘要

本財務摘要摘自樂施會截至2017年3月31日的年度財務報告。樂施會年度財務報告由畢馬威會計師事務所撰寫,完整報告可於此下載。所有金額以港元為單位。

 

有關運用捐款的常見問題:

1) 樂施會如何確保捐款運用得當?

A. 樂施會於香港、中國內地及海外推行扶貧項目時,均嚴守監察與評估程序。

  • 監察內部運作的機制,包括事前對每個項目作需求評估,並對項目發展、 執行、監察及成效評估等不同環節進行檢視。
  • 上述每個環節的監察工作,由樂施會員工聯同實施該項目的當地合作夥伴和受助人一起執行。
  • 樂施會亦會邀請外間的獨立顧問評估工作成效。
  • 其他抱持與樂施會相同理念的專業人員亦被邀協助對項目進行同儕評審。
  • 香港樂施會總部及在其他地區設立的辦事處,負責管理有關財務的問責程序。

 

B. 樂施會為個別災難進行公眾募捐時,在扣除直接籌募開支後,所有捐款均用於救災及重建工作。

  • 每當需要為緊急救援行動向公眾進行募捐,樂施會均會就該救援項目設立獨立帳目。相關的主要行政開支皆來自機構的營運儲備,在扣除直接籌募開支後,所有公眾捐款均用於救災及重建項目,當中包括監察及管理相關項目的開支。
  • 樂施會內部設有管理制度,保證該緊急捐款確實用於救援工作:由向災民提供緊急救援物資,以至透過可持續發展的方式,協助災民重建房屋及社區設施,恢復生計。該管理制度包括項目需求和內容評估、開支監管及制訂進度報告等。另外,我們亦盡量在當地採購救援物資,這樣不僅可以支持受影響地區的居民,同時可以減低交通運輸成本。
  • 樂施會獲香港特區政府賑災基金撥款支持的項目,機構內部會為此作出獨立的核數報告,用剩款項將悉數退回該基金。
  • 樂施會將盡用在緊急救援中所得的捐款。倘有餘款,有關款項會用作推行其他國家及地區的扶貧救災及災後重建項目。

 

C. 樂施會的管治架構 – 董事會及執行委員會成員義務為樂施會貢獻時間及專 業知識。

由香港公眾人士組成的董事會及其屬下的執行委員會,各成員以義務身份參與樂施會的事務,貢獻時間和專業知識,督導樂施會的項目計劃及監察開支。樂施會員工透過部門工作報告、財政報告及核數報告等,不時向董事會及各委員會匯報工作情況。

董事會負責批核及監察年度計劃、財政預算、全年及中期財政報告;為籌款及撥款制訂指引,以及監察機構有否遵照指引辦事。執行委員會由董事會委任,負責行政決策。

D. 樂施會的儲備政策規定,儲備必須相等於三至六個月的非指定用途開支,以保證我們收入在預料以外急劇減少時,仍有足夠資金繼續推行項目。

E. 樂施會為香港的合法註冊團體,必須遵守香港法律;我們在香港以外地區開展的項目,則須遵守當地法律。

2) 樂施會如何控制行政及籌款開支﹖(我的捐款,有多少能夠直接惠及貧窮人﹖)

在2016/17年度,樂施會的管理和行政開支佔全年總開支3.3%,籌款及市務開支佔全年總開支比例11.1%。樂施會致力減低行政和籌款開支,訂立了多項內部政策、指引及措施,以增加成本效益:

  • 我們鼓勵捐款者成為「樂施之友」,每月定額捐款,這樣可以減少大量籌募工作,將有關行政及籌款開支減至最低。
  • 行政部盡量安排義工執行我們的日常工作,例如樂施商店的運作、部分文書及翻譯工作等。另外,去年的「樂施毅行者」及「樂施米義賣大行動」均有近6,000名義工協助工作。
  • 我們經常與樂施會國際聯會的成員合作,以增加可動用的資源,來推行大型的緊急救援計劃、長期發展項目及影響深遠的全球性政策倡議工作等。
  • 我們盡量物色免費或提供折扣的廣告位置,亦會尋求印刷品的贊助,以減低宣傳及推廣開支。

 

3) 樂施會的行政開支,包括什麼﹖

我們遵從樂施會國際聯會的財務標準,也恪守國際非政府組織問責約章。管理和行政開支包括機構日常行政管理、財政管理及資訊科技系統管理、核數及法律服務等等。

4) 樂施會如何核數?

外部核數

樂施會每年均委託專業的會計師行,按照香港會計師公會頒布的核數準則,審核樂施會的財務報表。核數師每年就我們的財務報表提供獨立意見,並評核我們所編製的財務報表是否能真實而公平地反映樂施會的財政狀況、減除開支後的所餘收入概況及現金流量狀況等。

內部核數

我們亦成立了內部審計小組,提供內部程序分析,令我們更有效評估及改善風險管理措施、監控架構及管理程序。內部審計小組直接向財務及審計委員會匯報。

5) 如何進一步了解樂施會運用捐款的情況?

樂施會透過以下渠道向公眾交代運用捐款情況:

  • 出版刊物(年報樂施快訊網誌等)
  • 本會網站及其屬下網站(如「樂施毅行者」網站)
  • 在大眾傳播媒介刊登文章及宣傳訊息
  • 直接郵遞及以電郵送出的資訊
  • 安排支持者(如捐款者、義工)探訪受助地區的考察活動
  • 樂施會支持者周年聚會 (捐款者及義工聚會)

 

6) 我的捐款可以扣稅嗎?(只適用於香港居民)  
根據香港《稅務條例》,你於該財政年度之總捐款額達港幣100元或以上,可憑收據申請扣減稅項。為鼓勵公眾捐款予認可慈善團體,如香港樂施會,香港特別行政區政府把慈善捐款的免稅額提升至應評稅入息或利潤的 35 %。