Oxfam Hong Kong’s reinforcement measures on sexual misconduct and abuse of power

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Policy and Procedures on Disclosure and Handling of Malpractice in the Workplace (Whistleblowing Policy)

(Update / Revision of “Policy on Disclosure of Malpractice in the Workplace (January 2013)”)

Policy Statement

1. Oxfam Hong Kong (OHK) is committed to maintaining good governance, emphasizing accountability and a high degree of transparency which enable our stakeholders to have trust and faith in OHK in the delivery of our mission.

2. In line with this commitment, it is vital that everyone who works for/with OHK upholds OHK’s vision and mission, values and codes of conduct, behaves professionally, maintains the highest standards of conduct, integrity and ethics, and complies with applicable law. An employee, volunteer, consultant, partner, contractor, representative, donor or beneficiary (each a stakeholder) of OHK with any genuine concern about malpractice in the OHK workplace is encouraged to communicate these without fear and in the knowledge that he/she will be protected.

Protection for Whistleblowers

3. This Policy aims to provide reporting channels and guidance on reporting genuine concerns about malpractice and reassurance to persons reporting such concerns (Whistleblowers) and investigators of protection from harassment, intimidation, reprisal, retaliation, unfair disciplinary action or victimization (each an unjust treatment) in OHK as a consequence of reporting genuine concerns.

4. OHK will take appropriate action, which may end in dismissal, in accordance with the relevant procedure against any employee, volunteer, consultant, partner, contractor, representative who is found to be harassing or otherwise treating another individual unjustly for or deterring them from reporting genuine concerns about malpractice.

Confidentiality

5. The identity of a Whistleblower will not be disclosed without the Whistleblower’s consent unless such disclosure is required by applicable law. However, there may be circumstances in which OHK may be legally obliged or otherwise required to disclose the Whistleblower’s identity, for example, where an investigation leads to legal proceedings being initiated. If this is the case, OHK will endeavor to inform the Whistleblower that his or her identity is likely to be disclosed. OHK will also take all reasonable steps to ensure that the Whistleblower will not be subject to any unjust treatment in OHK.

6. Should an investigation lead to a criminal prosecution, it may become necessary for the Whistleblower to provide evidence or be interviewed by relevant authorities.

Malpractice

7. OHK uses this policy to enable stakeholders of OHK to raise genuine concerns about malpractice in the workplace at an early stage and in the right way. It applies in all cases where there are genuine concerns about malpractice in the workplace, regardless of geographic location and whether raising the concern may breach confidentiality.

8. Malpractice refers to a decision or action which would or could bring OHK into serious disrepute or other harm including those listed below:

A. Financial and Other Wrongdoing

  • Criminal or civil offences including theft, bribery, fraud, money laundering and aid diversion;
  • Falsification of records or non-compliance with policies and procedures for personal gain or gain of others; and
  • The deliberate concealment of information relating to any of the matters listed above.

 

B. Safeguarding

  • Misconduct against children, vulnerable adults or beneficiaries such as:

 

a. Sexual harassment – Unwelcome sexual advance, request for sexual favor, verbal or physical conduct or gesture of a sexual nature, or any other behavior of a sexual nature that might reasonably be expected or be perceived to cause offence or humiliation to another, when such conduct interferes with work, is made a condition of employment or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment;

b. Sexual exploitation – Actual or attempted abuse of a position of vulnerability, or trust, for sexual purposes, including profiting monetarily, socially or politically from the sexual exploitation of another;

c. Sexual abuse – Actual or threatened physical intrusion of a sexual nature, whether by force or under unequal or coercive conditions.

d. Other issues such as human trafficking, inappropriate conduct (bullying, intimidation, use of inappropriate language), undisclosed material safeguarding incident, undisclosed sex offender, accessing or storing pornography via/in a work device

C. Other Internal Reportable Issues

  • Significant non-compliance with OHK codes of conduct or other policies;
  • Material abuse of position, power or authority;

 

9. If the Whistleblower genuinely and reasonably believes that raising the concern is in OHK’s best interest, even if it is later discovered that he/she is mistaken, the Whistleblower will not be at risk of unjust treatment by OHK as a direct result of such reporting.

This assurance will not be extended to an individual who raises a concern or makes a statement he/she knows to be untrue or with reckless disregard for the truth or who is engaged in any way in the malpractice. Making false statements knowingly or acting otherwise maliciously will be viewed as a serious disciplinable offence.

Reporting Channels and Procedures

10. In general, if a stakeholder has a genuine concern and a reasonable belief that the decision(s) or action(s) of someone who works for/with OHK is or could become or lead to malpractice, he/she can follow the procedures below:

A. Financial and Other Wrongdoing

11. The Whistleblower should raise the concern with his/her line manager. If for any reason the Whistleblower prefers not to raise the concern with his/her line manager, he/she can raise it with the latter’s supervisor or the Human Resources Manager (HRM).

If in any circumstances he/she feels unable to report to the manager, the latter’s supervisor or the HRM, he/she may report the concern in confidence directly:

(1) By email to the Whistleblowing Helpline confidential email account at whistleblowing@oxfam.org.hk ; or

(2) By phone or email to the Internal Auditor (IA).

Managers who receive a concern should report it to their supervisors and the Financial and Other Wrongdoing Team which consists of the Director of Operations (DoO), Finance Manager (FM), Internal Auditor (IA) and Governance and Development Manager (GDM) and is chaired by the DoO, verbally or in writing by email without delay.

The Governance and Development Manager (GDM) of the Directorate Office is the administrator of the Whistleblowing Helpline email account and will direct concerns reported to the Financial and Other Wrongdoing Team.

B. Safeguarding

12. The Whistleblower should report any Safeguarding concern immediately to his/her line manager or the Safeguarding Team which consists of the DoO, HRM, Gender Programme Manager (GPM) and GDM and is chaired by the DoO, verbally or in writing. The Whistleblower may report the concern in confidence to the Safeguarding Team either:

(1) By contacting directly a member of the Safeguarding Team; or

(2) By email to the confidential team email account at safeguarding@oxfam.org.hk .

The GDM is the administrator of the Safeguarding Team email account.

C. Other Internal Reportable Issues

13. The Whistleblower should report any Other Internal Reportable Issue to his/her line manager (or the latter’s supervisor) verbally or in writing and by email to the Whistleblowing Helpline confidential email account at whistleblowing@oxfam.org.hk .

14. For A, B, or C above, if any Director (including the DoO) is implicated in the concern in some way, the concern should be raised with the Director General (DG) directly. The DG, if appropriate, would work with the relevant Team, without the knowledge or involvement of the Director concerned to avoid conflicts of interest, to handle the concern.

15. If the concern raised implicates the DG, a Committee Member or a Council Member, the Whistleblower may, at his/her discretion, report directly to the Chair of the Council by email to chair@oxfam.org.hk . The Whistleblower may report to the Vice Chairs of the Council at vicechair@oxfam.org.hk  if the concern implicates the Council Chair. The Chair of the Council or the Vice Chairs of the Council, if appropriate, would work with relevant staff to handle the concern.

Only the Chair of the Council and the Vice Chairs of the Council respectively have access to these email accounts.

16. If the Whistleblower is not an OHK employee, he/she may report the concern in confidence by email to the Whistleblowing Helpline confidential email account at whistleblowing@oxfam.org.hk .

17. When first raising a concern, the Whistleblower should share information describing:

  • Whether anyone is at immediate risk of physical harm and if so, who?
  • What happened?
  • Who were/are involved?
  • How he/she has come to know about what happened?
  • When he/she first became concerned?
  • Whether he/she has told anyone about what happened and/or the concern?
  • What action has been taken?

 

A reporting template is set out in Appendix 2.

18. Whistleblowers are advised not make anonymous reports as this may seriously limit the ability of OHK to investigate the concerns as well as the nature, extent and outcome of investigation. Nonetheless, all disclosures, made anonymously or otherwise, will be reviewed.

Screening (target response within 1 week of receiving report of concern)

19. When a concern is reported in accordance with the procedures described above, the responsible Team and relevant supervisor, Director, DG, Council Chair and/or Council Vice Chairs (together, the Responsible Persons) will evaluate the validity and relevance of the concern. If the Responsible Persons decide that an investigation is warranted, they would recommend investigators who have relevant capacity and no conflict of interest for the DG to appoint to investigate the concern. In the event the DG is the subject of the concern, the Council Chair will assume the appointment role.

Investigation (target time of within 4 weeks of appointment of the investigators)

20. Depending upon the nature and particular circumstances of each case, the investigators may discuss with the Whistleblower special measures of protection that should be applied during investigation.

21. Upon completion of the investigation, the investigators will submit a report, without revealing the identity of the Whistleblower, to the Responsible Persons.

Decision (within 1 week of receipt of the investigation report)

22. If an employee or some other individual is found in the investigation to have committed a malpractice and/or violation of OHK’s vision and mission, values or codes of conduct, the Responsible Team and line management of the employee, with assistance of DoO, will recommend remedy, disciplinary and/or other appropriate actions to the DG (or the Council Chair, in the event the DG is implicated in the malpractice or violation) for final decision.

23. The Whistleblower will be notified when the final decision has been made, when reasonably practicable, but the substance of the decision (including any remedy, disciplinary and/or other actions) may be subject to confidentiality and may not be communicated.

Grievance and Appeal (within 5 days of communication of the decision)

24. An individual who is found to have committed malpractice or violation and an individual who has suffered harm as a result has the right to appeal against the final decision and may file an appeal in writing directly to the Executive Committee of the Council under the [Grievance Procedures and Grievance Hearing]1 by email to chair@oxfam.org.hk .

Caseload Reporting and Record Retention

25. The Chairs of the Financial and Other Wrongdoing Team and the Safeguarding Team and the administrator of the Whistleblowing Helpline will submit monthly caseload reports to the DG. In the event any concern reported implicates the DG, that concern will be removed from the monthly caseload reports and the full monthly reports will be delivered instead to the Council Chair.

26. Records will be kept of all reported concerns, evaluation and decisions whether or not to undertake investigation. In the event a reported concern leads to an investigation, the relevant Team, the HR Team and the investigators will ensure that all relevant information is retained.

香港乐施会加强防止性不当行为及滥用权力的措施

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

有关工作场所出现不当行为的处理及披露政策和程序(披露政策)

(《工作场所发生不当行为的披露政策(2013年1月)》的更新/修订)

政策声明

1. 香港乐施会(下称乐施会)致力维持良好的机构管治,特别强调问责及高透明度,使机构的持分者对乐施会能落实机构使命保持信心。

2. 基于对良好机构管治的承诺,乐施会要求所有员工,以及合作夥伴都要认同和遵守乐施会的愿景、使命、价值观及行为准则,以专业的态度做事,时常保持最高的行为准则,诚信和道德标准,并遵守适用的法律。如乐施会的员工、义工、顾问、合作夥伴、合约承包商、代表乐施会的人士、捐款者、或项目受惠者(下称「利益相关者」)怀疑在乐施会工作场所出现不当行为,乐施会支持并鼓励他/她们作出举报,并将为举报者提供适切的保护。

保护举报者的措施

3. 本政策旨在为举报者提供举报的途径和指引,以及保证举报者和调查人员不会因为举报和调查有关怀疑不当行为,而导致他们在乐施会受到任何形式的骚扰、恐吓、报复、不公平的纪律处分或迫害(下称「不公正的对待」)。

4. 若任何员工、义工、顾问、合作伙伴、合约承包商或代表乐施会的人士被发现骚扰、迫害、或拖延举报者按本政策报告其怀疑发生的不当行为,乐施会将按相关程序,向其采取包括解僱在内的适当行动。

保密

5. 除非适用的法例规定必须公开,否则乐施会不会在未经举报者同意下披露其身分。但在某些情况下,例如当调查工作须延伸至法律诉讼,乐施会可能有法律责任披露举报者的身分。如发生这种情况,乐施会将尽力知会举报者他/她的身分

可能会被披露。乐施会同时会采取一切合理的措施,确保举报者不会在乐施会受到任何不公正的对待。

6. 如调查工作须涉及刑事起诉,举报者可能需要为事件提供证据,或接受有关当局的查问。

不当行为

7. 本政策让乐施会的利益相关者能在怀疑乐施会工作场所中出现有不当行为时尽早以洽当的方式提出或披露他们的真实疑虑,本政策适用于所有怀疑在乐施会工作场所出现的不当行为,而不论出现有关怀疑不当行为的地理位置,以及举报有关怀疑不当行为是否违反保密规定。

8. 不当行为指的是会让乐施会声誉严重受损或有可能为乐施会带来其它伤害的决定或行动,包括但不止于以下例子:

A. 财务及其它失当行为

  • 刑事或民事犯罪,包括盗窃、贿赂、欺诈、洗黑钱和转移项目援助;
  • 为个人或他人谋取利益而伪造记录,违反机构的政策或既定程序;及
  • 故意隐瞒有关上述行为的资料。

 

B. 有违保障的行为

  • 对儿童、弱势成年人及受惠者的不当行为,例如:

 

a. 性骚扰 ─不受当事人欢迎的性举动,涉及性回报的要求,有性含意的言语、行为或动作,或任何带有性含意、令当事人合理地感到受冒犯或侮辱的行为,当这种行为出现在工作时,会被看成为工作的条件,以至令当事人感到工作环境存在恐吓、敌意或冒犯,这些都构成性骚扰;

b. 性剥削 ─实际或企图利用对方的弱势滥用权力、或利用对方的信任来达到任何有性目的的行为,包括从对他人的性剥削中获取金钱、社会或政治上的利益;及

c. 性侵犯 ─在武力、不平等或胁迫条件下,对当事人实际或威胁采取带性含意的侵犯行为;

d. 其它如贩卖人口、不当行为(欺凌、恐吓、使用不适当语言)、隐瞒过去有违保障的行为、隐瞒过去曾犯性罪行、通过工作设备浏览、获取、存有色情资讯等。

C. 其他应举报的行为

  • 重大违反乐施会行为守则或其它政策的行为;及
  • 明显滥用职务或权力。

 

9. 如举报者确切怀疑在乐施会的工作场所出现不当行为,并有合理的理由支持举报其所怀疑的不当行为符合乐施会的利益,即使调查后发现其举证有误,举报者不会因此而遭受乐施会不公正的对待。

然而上述保障条款并不适用于举报者恶意地作出虚假或莽顾事情真实性的指控、或举报者本身涉及有关不当行为等情况。举报者如作出虚假声明或恶意指控均属严重违规行为,乐施会将会对其采取纪律处分。

举报的途径和程序

10. 一般而言,如举报者确切及合理地相信任何为乐施会工作或与乐施会一起工作的人士的行为已属于或可能导致不当行为,他/她可循以下程序举报:

A. 财务及其它失当行为

11. 举报者通过他/她的直属经理提出其所怀疑的不当行为,如举报者基于任何原因不愿意向其直属经理举报,他/她可选择向较其直属经理的主管或人力资源经理提出有关怀疑不当行为。

在任何情况下,如举报者认为不能向其直属经理、其直属经理的主管或人力资源经理举报,他/她可以直接透过乐施会的举报热线举报,举报内容将会保密:

(1) 发送电邮至whistleblowing@oxfam.org.hk ;或

(2) 致电或发电邮给内部审计师举报。

收到举报的经理,须即时将有关情况以口头或书面方式,向其主管及由营运总监(主席)、财务经理、内部审计师、管治及发展经理组成的「财务及其它失当行为团队」汇报。

举报热线的管理人是总裁办公室的管治及发展经理,他/她会负责将举报的情况转介至财务及其它失当行为团队处理。

B. 有违保障的行为

12. 举报者应即时以口头或书面方式向其直属经理或由营运总监(主席)、人力资源经理、社会性别项目经理、管治及发展经理组成的「保障工作团队」报告任何他/她怀疑有违保障的不当行为:

(1) 直接接触任何一名保障工作团队的成员举报;或

(2) 电邮至团队邮箱safeguarding@oxfam.org.hk ,举报内容将会保密。

保障工作团队电邮的管理人是总裁办公室的管治及发展经理。

C. 其它应举报的行为

13. 举报者应以口头或以书面方式向其直属经理(或其直属经理的主管)举报任何他/她怀疑在乐施会工作场所发生的其它应举报行为,并同时电邮至举报热线(whistleblowing@oxfam.org.hk )。

14. 如上述A、B或C类的不当行为涉及任何总监(包括营运总监),有关怀疑不当行为须直接向总裁报告。总裁将在适当情况下与有关团队共同处理,涉事的总监必须在有关工作团队及整个调查过程中避席,以避免任何利益冲突。

15. 如任何怀疑不当行为涉及总裁、董事会执行委员会委员或董事会成员,举报者可考虑选择电邮至 chair@oxfam.org.hk,直接向董事会主席举报。若有关怀疑不当行为涉及董事会主席时,举报者可电邮至 vicechair@oxfam.org.hk  向董事会副主席举报。董事会主席或副主席会在适当情况下与有关员工一同处理该举报。

16. 如举报者并非乐施会僱员,他/她可电邮至 whistleblowing@oxfam.org.hk  透过保密的举报热线举报。

17. 举报者在举报怀疑不当行为时,应提供以下资料:

  • 是否有任何人士有身体受到即时伤害的危险?如有,谁?
  • 发生了什么事?
  • 谁曾/正涉及其中?
  • 他/她是如何知悉所发生的情况?
  • 他/她从何时起开始关注所发生的情况?
  • 他/她之前有否向任何人谈及过所发生的情况及/或他/她的怀疑?
  • 已采取过什么行动?

 

18. 举报者不应以匿名的方式披露其怀疑发生的不当行为,因为匿名举报将阻碍乐施会调查其所怀疑发生的情况、有关情况的性质、程度,影响调查结果。然而,乐施会会仔细审查所有包括匿名披露的怀疑不当行为。

甄别(目标回应时间为收到举报后的一週内)

19. 当有关怀疑不当行为循上述的程序举报后,有关团队及相关主管、总监、总裁、董事会主席及/或董事会副主席(下称「负责人」)将评估有关怀疑不当行为的真确性及关联性。如有关负责人决定有必要立案调查,其将向总裁建议具能力及没有利益冲突的调查人员名单,在得到总裁任命后,由调查人员对有关怀疑不当行为展开调查。如有关怀疑不当行为涉及总裁,董事会主席将充任委派调查人员的角色。

调查(目标处理时间为委派调查员后的四週内)

20. 调查人员会视乎每个个案的性质及个别情况,与举报者商讨在调查过程中是否需要采取适用的特殊保护措施。

21. 当完成调查后,调查人员将准备一份不披露举报者身份的报告,并呈交予有关负责人。

议决(目标时间为收到调查报告后的一週内)

22. 如调查中确认员工或个人曾作出不当行为及/或违反了乐施会的愿景、使命、价值观或行为守则,有关负责团队及相关员工的直属上司在营运总监的协助下,将向总裁提出补救、惩戒措施及/或其他合适行动的建议,总裁将就处理行动作出最终决定(如有关不当行为涉及总裁,有关负责人将向董事会主席提出建议,由董事会主席就处理行动作出最终决定)。

23. 在合理和可行的情况下,举报者将被告知最终的议决,但按保密原则,决定的详细内容(包括任何补救措施、纪律处分及/或其它行动)将不会向举报者通报。

申诉和上诉(沟通议决后的五天内)

24. 任何被确认曾违反、作出不当行为的个人及因此受害的个人均有权对上述最终决定提出上诉,并根据《申诉程序和申诉听证》1以书面形式电邮至 chair@oxfam.org.hk 直接向董事会执行委员会提出申诉。

个案报告及记录存档

25. 财务及其它失当行为团队、保障工作团队的主席及举报热线管理人员每月需向总裁提交个案报告。如举报的怀疑不当行为涉及总裁,有关怀疑不当行为将从提交给总裁的个案报告中剔除,而完整的个案报告将直接交予董事会主席。

26. 无论最终有否展开调查,所有举报、评估怀疑不当行为及相关决定的记录均须存档。如举报的怀疑不当行为获立案调查,有关团队、人力资源团队及有关调查人员将确保所有相关资料妥善存档。