SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Credit: AFP

Updated: 19 October 2018

Oxfam India is preparing to provide emergency relief and assistance to people affected by one of the worst floods in the history of Kerala. Families urgently need help!

Act Now!

Hong Kong Donor: Donate Online
Macau Donor: Donate Online
Other donation methods

The situation

Since monsoon season began in June, floods have been badly affecting India and have caused over 930 deaths. Kerala, a southern Indian state, saw continual heavy rains since 8 July, which further intensified on 18 July. The release of water from dams on 10 August has also exacerbated the situation. This is the worst flood Kerala has seen in a century. The floods have triggered landslides which have washed away houses, and affected more than 1.5 million people. It has left hundreds of thousands homeless and claimed the lives of over 400 people to date. Over 1 million people have been displaced and have sought refuge in over 3,274 relief camps.

Floods and landslides have caused massive destruction. Houses in most districts are submerged and inaccessible, crops are damaged and livestock have been killed. People are stranded, running out of food and clean water, and making desperate appeals for help through social media and other channels.

Flood water is slowly receding in some parts of Kerala, but the full extent of the damage will not be seen until the waters fully subside. Public health experts warn of an outbreak of mosquito-borne and other diseases, such as typhoid, hepatitis and cholera; should there be an outbreak, this will become a secondary disaster.

Oxfam’s response

Following a rapid assessment of the situation, Oxfam India is preparing to respond in Idduki and Wayanad district initially, and then scaling up to cover Alappuzha, Palakkad and Pathanamthitta.

We at Oxfam will put our experience and expertise on water, hygiene and sanitation into action in Kerala. We will:

  • provide safe drinking water and toilets
  • provide temporary shelters, food and hygiene supplies
  • make the personal hygiene of women and girls a priority and prepare for a large-scale distribution of ‘dignity kits’
  • support village cleaning drives and debris removal to prevent the outbreak of disease

 

The rising death toll is urgent. While rescue and relief are the priority in the short term, the enormity of this catastrophe means ongoing support will be needed with recovery – especially livelihood recovery, rehabilitation and reconstruction.

Should there be any unused donations from this public appeal, Oxfam will use the funds for other emergency, rehabilitation, or community development projects in other places.

In this disaster, Oxfam Hong Kong received HK$5.6 million in funding from the Hong Kong SAR’s Disaster Relief Fund on 27 September 2018 to purchase supplies and reach more than 7,900 floods affected families in Alappuzha, Idukki and Wayanad districts in Kerala Region, India.

The grant will ensure each targeted family will receive a household kit and a hygiene kit, which includes mosquito nets, bedsheets, a solar powered lantern, household water filter, personal hygiene items such as soap, toothbrushes, toothpaste, etc.

The Disaster Relief Fund requires that this fund be used for this specific disaster, in accordance with the funding application submitted by Oxfam Hong Kong and approved by the Disaster Relief Fund. After the completion of our relief work, we will carry out an evaluation, and submit an evaluation and financial report (including an external audit report) to the Disaster Relief Fund.

A member of Oxfam India’s humanitarian team in Wayanad, the seriously affected area, conducting a rapid assessment to understand how contaminated water there is. (Photo: Oxfam India)
A member of Oxfam India’s humanitarian team conducting a water quality assessment using water from a well. (Photo: Oxfam India)
Kerala, a southern Indian state, has been seriously affected by the floods; water levels now reach the rooves of houses. (Photo: Oxfam India)
In areas where the water has subsided, cars and advertising signs that were washed away by the flood can be found along roadsides. (Photo: Oxfam India)

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

图片:法新社

更新:2018年10月19日

印度乐施会正准备救援物资,以支援南部喀拉拉邦水灾灾民。情况危急,灾民亟待支援!

紧急救援!

香港捐款者:网上捐款
澳门捐款者:网上捐款
其他捐款方法

灾情现况

印度水灾灾情严重,自6月踏入雨季开始,全国多个水灾灾区有超过930人死亡。其中,在南部的喀拉拉邦(Kerala)自7月8日开始豪雨不断,至18日暴雨加剧,受「百年一遇的洪水」冲击,加上8月10日开始水坝排洪,进一步加剧灾情。连日暴雨引发山泥倾泻,冲毁民居。受灾人数逾150万人,数以十万计人无家可归,至今已夺去了至少400人的性命。逾100万人流离失所,分别被疏散至3,274个庇护营地。

喀拉拉邦的洪水及山泥倾泻导致大范围的破坏。当地情况极为恶劣,机场已关闭、公共交通中断、电话讯号中断、停止供电。大部分地区的民居已被浸没,农作物被摧毁,牲口死亡。灾民被洪水围困,缺水缺粮,无计可施之下,有灾民在社交媒体上发放求救的讯息。

部分地区洪水正缓慢退却中,水灾的破坏要在完全水退后才能全国了解,有公共卫生专家预计,随后的蚊患及传染病,如伤寒、肝灾或腹泻等,有机会在灾区爆发,衍生次生灾害。

乐施会的救援工作

印度乐施会在水灾发生后,随即进行灾后评估,并先锁定伊杜克克镇(Idduki)及瓦亚纳德镇(Wayanad)。由于灾情严重,救援范围已扩大至阿勒皮镇(Alappuzha)、伯拉卡德镇(Palakkad)及帕塔南蒂塔区(Pathanamthitta)。

乐施会运用团队在水利及公共卫生设施方面的专长及经验,应对喀拉拉邦的水灾。乐施会救援团队正计划向灾民提供以下救援物资:

  • 提供清洁食水及厕所等
  • 提供临时的帐篷、食物及卫生用品
  • 在救援行动上,我们十分重视女性的个人卫生,因此,我们正准备大规模发放女性用品包
  • 支援灾民进行水灾后的瓦砾及杂物清理,以防止传染病爆发

 

水灾死亡人数急速上升,情况严峻,短期之内,发放救援物资是首要目标。但我们预计灾后的生计恢复将会十分艰巨,意味着长远仍然需要公众的支持,以完成灾后的恢复及重建工作。

乐施会将尽用所得捐款于此次赈灾。倘有余款,有关款项会用作推行其他地区的扶贫救灾及灾后重建项目。

香港特区政府赈灾基金于9月27日批出拨款560万港元资助是次救灾项目,以支援超过7,900户在喀拉拉邦(Kerala)的阿勒皮镇(Alappuzha)、伊杜克克镇(Idduki)及瓦亚纳德镇(Wayanad)的受灾户。

拨款将用在向受灾户发放家庭套装及个人卫生套装,套装内包括蚊帐、床单、太阳能灯、家用淨水器、个人卫生用品包括肥皂、牙刷、牙膏等,支持受灾家庭渡过难关。

赈灾基金在财务上规定「专款专用、实报实销」,申请机构需进行外部审计。乐施会完成救援项目后,将向赈灾基金委员会递交总结报告及财务报告(包括外部审计报告)。

印度乐施会的人道救援人员抵达重灾区之一瓦亚纳德镇(Wayanad),以评估水灾对水源的影响。(图片:印度乐施会)
印度乐施会工作人员从水井检测食水样本。(图片:印度乐施会)
印度南部喀拉拉邦受灾情况严重,水深浸没至屋顶。(图片:印度乐施会)
水退后,受洪水冲毁的汽车和广告招牌在路边。(图片:印度乐施会)