SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Volunteers working in the migrant shelter in Celaya, Guanajuato, attend a workshop to learn about their role as human rights defenders and their responsibilities to strengthen the security of the transmigrants in Mexico. They were also trained to raise awareness among the local population on the issue of human rights violation. (Photo: Oxfam Mexico)

  • Population: 121 million (July 2015 est.)
  • Human Development Index: 74 (among 188 countries)
  • GDP per capita: US$18,000 (2014 est.)
  • Population below poverty line: 52.3% (2012 est.)

Sources: CIA – The World Factbook (as of 30 December, 2015), Human Development Report 2015

 

Oxfam in Mexico

Oxfam formally began its work in Mexico in 2007 as an ally and observer. At the time, it closely cooperated with an organisation which was then called Faces and Voices as both organisations wanted to create a more just society. In 2008, Faces and Voices joined the Oxfam confederation and became Oxfam Mexico. This strategic move has strengthened Oxfam Mexico as a national organisation to enhance its capacity and influence other civil societies and the government. Oxfam Hong Kong began working together with Oxfam Mexico in 2014 and is now supporting five active programmes in the country.

 

Our work's focus

Gender justice – Promote women's economic equality, empower them to protect their rights, and ensure their access to social and political spaces.
Active citizenship – Strengthen democratic systems through citizen participation, and the assessment of the government and private sector's actions.
Secure livelihoods – Increase the food and income security of the most marginalised people through increased resilience of their communities and livelihoods, and their resistance to humanitarian crises.
Urban poverty – Enhance the capacity and security of migrant shelters and human rights defenders working with transmigrants in contexts of insecurity.

 

Impact of our work

In the past, it was difficult for Eneida to take part in a government programme because of male chauvinism and discrimination. In 2014, she joined the Sustainable Land Management programme supported by Oxfam Mexico and Oxfam Hong Kong. Since then, she has become the leader of a community committee for Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) and helped develop a community DRR plan. Together with other female villagers, she has created a women’s organiaation that promotes gender equality in order to prevent discrimination and foster social spaces for women in the community.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

V瓜納華托州移民收容所的志願工作者正在參與工作坊,了解作為人權捍衛者的角色及職責,從而加強留居墨西哥跨國移民的安全。他們亦接受訓練,提升當地居民對於人權侵害的意識。(圖:樂施會)

  • 人口:1.21億(2015年7月估計)
  • 人類發展指數排名:74位 (於188個國家當中)
  • 人均國內生產總值:18,000美元 (2014年估算)
  • 活在貧窮線下的人口比率(以該國政府設立的貧窮線計算):52.3% (2012年估算)

資料來源:世界概況 (截至2015年12月30日);2015年人類發展報告

 

樂施會在墨西哥

樂施會於2007年正式開展在墨西哥的工作。作為夥伴及觀察員,樂施會與持相近理念的團體——Faces and Voices緊密合作,共同促進一個更公義的社會。Face and Voices更於2008年加入國際樂施會,成為墨西哥樂施會。這個變動令墨西哥樂施會躍升為國家層面的組織,大大提升其在當地公民社會及政府的影響力。自2014年起,香港樂施會支持墨西哥樂施會的工作,現時正支持當地推行五個項目。

 

重點工作

性別公義 – 推廣經濟上女性平等,以及婦女賦權以保障她們的權益,確保她們在社會及政治上的參與。
積極公民參與 – 透過監察政府和私人機構的行動,推動公民參與
生計保障 – 透過加強當地社區對災害的應變能力,令身處偏遠地區的居民,其糧食及生計得到保障。
城市貧窮 – 加強移民收容中心及人權捍衛者的能力及人身安全保障。

 

為受助人帶來改變

一直以來,在男性主導和歧視的社會裡,身為女性的Eneida難以參與政府支持的項目。2014年,在樂施會的支持下,她參與了可持續土地管理計劃(Sustainable Land Management Programme),其後更成為減災社區委員會的領導者,幫助設計社區減低災害風險的計劃。另外,Eneida聯同其他村內婦女,組成一個婦女組織,宣揚性別平等,消除歧視,以及擴大區內婦女參與的機會。