Global Inequality

SHARE THIS
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

Billionaire fortunes grew by US$2.5 billion a day last year as poorest saw their wealth fall

 

Billionaire fortunes increased by 12 per cent last year – or US$2.5 billion a day - while the 3.8 billion people who make up the poorest half of humanity saw their wealth decline by 11 per cent, reveals a new report from Oxfam today. The report is being launched as political and business leaders gather for the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland.

‘Public Good or Private Wealth’ shows the growing gap between rich and poor is undermining the fight against poverty, damaging our economies and fuelling public anger across the globe. It reveals how governments are exacerbating inequality by underfunding public services, such as healthcare and education, on the one hand, while under taxing corporations and the wealthy, and failing to clamp down on tax dodging, on the other. It also finds that women and girls are hardest hit by rising economic inequality.

Winnie Byanyima, Executive Director of Oxfam International, said:

‘The size of your bank account should not dictate how many years your children spend in school, or how long you live – yet this is the reality in too many countries across the globe. While corporations and the super-rich enjoy low tax bills, millions of girls are denied a decent education and women are dying for lack of maternity care.’

 The report reveals that the number of billionaires has almost doubled since the financial crisis, with a new billionaire created every two days between 2017 and 2018, yet wealthy individuals and corporations are paying lower rates of tax than they have in decades.

  • Getting the richest one per cent to pay just 0.5 per cent extra tax on their wealth could raise more money than it would cost to educate the 262 million children out of school and provide healthcare that would save the lives of 3.3 million people.
  • Just four cents in every dollar of tax revenue collected globally came from taxes on wealth such as inheritance or property in 2015. These types of tax have been reduced or eliminated in many rich countries and are barely implemented in the developing world.
  • Tax rates for wealthy individuals and corporations have also been cut dramatically. For example, the top rate of personal income tax in rich countries fell from 62 per cent in 1970 to just 38 per cent in 2013. The average rate in poor countries is just 28 per cent.
  • In some countries, such as Brazil, the poorest 10 per cent of society are now paying a higher proportion of their incomes in tax than the richest 10 per cent

At the same time, public services are suffering from chronic underfunding or being outsourced to private companies that exclude the poorest people. In many countries a decent education or quality healthcare has become a luxury only the rich can afford. Every day 10,000 people die because they lack access to affordable healthcare. In developing countries, a child from a poor family is twice as likely to die before the age of five than a child from a rich family. In countries like Kenya a child from a rich family will spend twice as long in education as one from a poor family.

Cutting taxes on wealth predominantly benefits men who own 50 per cent more wealth than women globally, and control over 86 per cent of corporations. Conversely, when public services are neglected poor women and girls suffer most. Girls are pulled out of school first when the money isn’t available to pay fees, and women clock up hours of unpaid work looking after sick relatives when healthcare systems fail. Oxfam estimates that if all the unpaid care work carried out by women across the globe was done by a single company it would have an annual turnover of US$10 trillion – 43 times that of Apple, the world’s biggest company.

Inequality is not only found in developing regions, but also in financial hubs like Hong Kong.

In fact, just as Oxfam Hong Kong recently pointed out in their ‘Hong Kong Inequality Report’, inequality in Hong Kong is alarming. The city’s Gini coefficient in 2016 (based on original monthly household income) stood at 0.539 – the highest in 45 years, and the Gini coefficient in the same year based on post-tax post-social transfer monthly household income was 0.473. Further, the city’s wealth gap is one of the most extreme among developed economies, including Canada (0.318), United Kingdom (0.351), United States (0.391), Singapore (0.356) and Australia (0.337).

The number of billionaires has soared since the financial crisis, and Hong Kong has become a microcosm of this global phenomenon. In 2008, there were 26 billionaires who had a combined wealth of HK$135.3 billion, and in 2018, there were 67 billionaires who owned a total of HK$334.7 billion. In last year alone, their wealth increased by 23.5 per cent. According to Oxfam’s ‘Hong Kong Poverty Situation Report 2017’, however, before factoring in government intervention, more than 1.37 million people in Hong Kong live below the poverty line.

While the number of billionaires continues to climb, the average waiting time for a public rental housing unit is at a record high: in Septmeber 2018, the waiting time stood at a staggering 5.5 years. Further, patients must now wait up to 78 weeks – or one and a half years – to see a specialist at a public hospital. The average waiting time for Care-and-Attention places and Nursing Home places is also 20 and 26 months respectively. Moreover, on average, only 1 in 148 children aged 0-2 received an aided full-day child care service place in 2016. With insufficient public services available, the poor in Hong Kong are placed at an even greater disadvantage.

Hong Kong, however, has the means to do better. The Hong Kong government has accumulated more than HK$690 billion in surplus, meaning its total fiscal reserves have surpassed the HK$1.1 trillion mark. As such, Oxfam is calling on the government to make progressive policy changes to address poverty, build a human economy and reduce inequality by increasing recurrent expenditure by HK$36.7 billion. This should be spent on public services to benefit citizens and paying their outsourced workers a living wage.

Kalina Tsang, Head of Oxfam’s Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan Programme said: ‘Despite Hong Kong’s growing poor population and the fact that the city’s fiscal reserves have reached a record high, public expenditure has been minimal and lags behind the international level. The findings show that trickledown economics has failed as the poor lack upward social mobility; working hard just doesn’t keep people out of poverty anymore. The government must improve its policies and increase public spending to improve public services that benefit the poorest and society at large.’

‘People across the globe are angry and frustrated. Governments must now deliver real change by ensuring corporations and wealthy individuals pay their fair share of tax and investing this money in free healthcare and education that meets the needs of everyone – including women and girls whose needs are so often overlooked. Governments can build a brighter future for everyone – not just a privileged few,’ added Byanyima.

Full report

Summary

Methodology document

Oxfam’s calculations are based on the most up to date, comprehensive data sources available. Figures on the share of wealth owned by the poorest half of humanity come from Credit Suisse Wealth Databook and relate to the period June 2017 - June 2018. Figures on the very richest in society are based on more detailed data from the Annual Forbes ‘Billionaires List’ and relates to the period March 2017 - March 2018.

 #HealthcareInequality
Affordable and quality healthcare is a basic right.

Chhatiya, who lives with her family in an urban slum in Patna, India, struggled to get decent healthcare when she was pregnant. The ill-equipped primary health care centre left her with no choice but to go to a private clinic for everything from an ultrasound to neonatal care when her son was born and required medical attention. Without affordable healthcare, Chhatiya and her husband were forced into debt because of the medical fees.

Chhatiya, however, is not alone – 60 million Indians are pushed into poverty because of healthcare costs every year: almost two people every second. The truth is there are quite a few quality hospitals in India that draw medical tourists in from neighbouring countries. Ironically though, the infant mortality rate in India’s poorest state is even higher than that in sub-Saharan Africa. This is the result of the Indian government’s lack of spending in public health and the over-privatisation of medical services.

Despite having one of the lowest infant mortality rates, Hong Kong still has an underfunded public healthcare system, meaning people often have to live with their medical conditions for longer than they should. Currently, the average waiting time for new patients who need to see a specialist is 78 weeks (i.e. a year and a half). When a disease comes knocking on your door though, it won’t wait till your next doctor’s appointment. With overcrowded hospital wards, understaffed hospitals and long queues for public health services, the crux of the problem is clearly systemic and lies in the lack of funding.

Quality healthcare should not be a luxury. That’s why aside from putting pressure on governments worldwide, Oxfam is also calling on the Hong Kong government to fulfil its responsibilities, promote progressive and long-term poverty alleviation policies, and increase its recurrent expenditure on public services by HK$36.7 billion a year.

分享
Copy the link and open WeChat to share

Open Wechat

2018年億萬富豪財富每日狂漲25億美元,而貧窮人財富卻不斷減少

 

樂施會在瑞士達沃斯世界經濟論壇前夕發表最新報告《公共服務:普惠全民還是偏待私利?》,發現過去一年,億萬富豪(擁有逾10億美元財富的人,下同)的財富增長了12%,相當於每日進帳25億美元;全球最貧窮的一半人口──即38億人的財富卻減少了11%。

《公共服務:普惠全民還是偏待私利?》指出貧富差距正在擴大,蠶食過往的扶貧成果,損害經濟,並已燃起世界各地民眾的怒火。它揭示了政府一方面對公共服務,如醫療衛生和教育的資源投放如何不足,另一方面,打撃逃稅失敗,向企業和富人徵稅不力,亦加劇了社會的不平等。當經濟發展日趨向不平等,女童和婦女往往是首當其衝最受到傷害的一群。

國際樂施會總幹事Winnie Byanyima說:「你的孩子可以讀多少年書或你能活多久,均不應取決於你的銀行戶口有多少存款──然而,這是全球很多國家所面對的現實。當企業和鉅富享受著低稅率,數百萬計的女童因為性別和貧窮被拒諸校門,很多婦女因為缺乏婦產服務,在生育過程中死亡。」

 

報告亦揭示了自金融海嘯以來,億萬富豪的人數上升接近一倍,在2017至2018年期間,每兩日就有一位億萬富豪誕生,然而,企業和鉅富如今所需繳納的稅率卻是數十年來最低﹗

 

  • 只需要向最富有1%人的財富額外徵稅0.5%,所得款項相當於2.62億失學兒童一年的教育經費,以及為330萬人提供足以挽救性命的醫療服務。
  • 2015年全球稅務收入中,每一美元僅有4美仙(0.04美元)來自遺產稅、物業稅等財產稅。在許多富裕國家,此類稅項不斷被削減甚至廢除,在發展中國家更少有設置。
  • 向企業和鉅富徵收的稅率也一直被大幅削減。例如在富裕國家,個人入息稅的最高稅率就由1970年的62%,降低至2013年的38%;而在貧窮國家此稅率平均只是28%。
  • 在部分國家,例如巴西,最貧窮的一成人口所繳的入息稅比例,比最富有的一成人還要多。

與此同時,公共服務正長期缺乏資金,甚或已外判給私人企業營運,以致貧窮人被拒諸門外。在許多國家,良好的教育或有質素的醫療服務已成奢侈品,只有富人才能負擔。每日有一萬人因為無法獲得醫療服務而死亡。在發展中國家,貧窮家庭的小孩,在五歲之前夭折的機會,是富有家庭小孩的兩倍。在一些國家,如肯亞,富有家庭的孩子接受教育的時間,是貧窮家庭的兩倍。

從性別的角度,全球男性擁有的財富比女性多一半,並且控制全球86%的企業。相反,公共服務不足,最受苦的是貧窮的女性。當一個家庭沒有足夠資金支付學費,首先需要退學的是女童;而當醫療制度不完善,病人得不到照顧時,照顧患病親友的無償工作也大多落在婦女身上。樂施會估計,若將全球婦女所做的無償照顧工作交由一間公司完成,其營業額將高達十萬億美元──相當於43家蘋果公司的總和,會成為全球最大的企業。

 

 

 

不平等的情況並非只在發展中國家發生,一如早前香港樂施會所發表的《香港不平等報告》,本港的貧富懸殊問題同樣嚴重﹗

 

2016年香港原住戶收入的堅尼系數為0.539,創45年來新高;在計算除稅後及福利轉移後住戶收入的堅尼系數為0.473,比已發展經濟體,如新加坡(0.356)、美國(0.391)、英國(0.351)、澳洲(0.337)及加拿大(0.318)更高。

國際上自金融海嘯以來,億萬富豪的數字急速增長,香港情況就是典型。香港由2008年只有26位億萬富豪坐擁1363億美元的財富,至2018年有67位億萬富豪坐擁3347億美元的財富,他們所擁有的財富在過去一年就增加了23.5%。而根據政府《2017年香港貧窮情況報告》,2017年政策介入前香港有137.7萬人活在貧窮綫下。

屢創新高的除了億萬富豪的財富,還有公屋的輪候年期,2018年9月公屋輪候時間升至5.5年;現時本港公立醫院專科穩定新症輪候時間平均為 78 個星期,即一年半;護理安老院及護養院宿位的平均輪候時間分別為20及26個月;全港0至2歲的幼兒,每148名才有一名獲分配資助托管服務⋯⋯公共服務資源投放不足同樣影響本港貧窮人的安危。

然而,香港政府並非如發展中國家窮困,政府累積超過6,900億港元盈餘,財政儲備突破1.1萬億港元。樂施會促請政府盡其責任,推行進取及長遠的扶貧政策,發展以人為本的經濟,讓社會上絕大部分的人享有平等發展的機會,政策方向包括增加經常性開支,對公共服務預算增撥367億港元,同時帶頭向外判工友支付生活工資等。

樂施會港澳台項目主管曾迦慧說:「本港財政儲備屢創新高,港府坐擁上萬億的儲備,但公共開支比例卻嚴重落後於國際水平,令愈來愈多的市民陷於貧困而得不到足夠支援,本港貧窮人口持續增長。社會現況證明,滴漏效應早已不奏效,單靠經濟增長不能惠及普羅大眾,貧窮人缺乏向上流動的機會,縱然有工作,也無法脫貧。政府有責任改變施政方針,大幅增加經常性開支以有效改善惠及基層的公共服務。」

國際樂施會總幹事Winnie Byanyima表示,全球貧富差距帶來的不公義令人無法接受:「世界各地的民眾已經非常憤怒和沮喪,政府必須作出改變,要求企業和鉅富繳納合乎公平原則的稅款,把稅收投放於免費醫療和教育,以滿足所有人的需要,包括經常被忽略的婦女和女孩。政府有責任為所有人而不是特權階級,建立一個更美好的未來。」

下載《公共服務:普惠全民還是偏待私利?》 (‘Public Good or Private Wealth’) 英文版 報告全文

下載《公共服務:普惠全民還是偏待私利?》 (‘Public Good or Private Wealth’) 報告 研究方法

下載《公共服務:普惠全民還是偏待私利?》 (‘Public Good or Private Wealth’) 中文版 報告摘要

樂施會的計算是基於可獲得的最新及最全面的數據來源。有關全球最貧窮半數人口所擁有的財富的數字,取自瑞信《全球財富數據手冊》2017年6月至2018年6月的數據,而鉅富資產的統計,則依據《福布斯》2018年度富豪榜,針對2017年3月至2018年3月的數據計算得出。

#醫療差距

在印度一個城市的貧民窟,Chhatiya因為公共診所設備和服務不足,為了孩子的安危,唯有使用私家服務。孩子剛出生時,身體有小毛病需要特別護理,亦令他和丈夫欠下一身醫療費。 

Chhatiya的情況並非少數,每年有6000萬印度人因為要負擔醫療保健費用而跌入貧窮──幾乎每秒有兩個人。其實,印度不少醫院的醫療服務挺不錯,更是鄰近地區內不少人的醫療旅遊目的地,諷刺的是,在印度最貧窮的邦,初生嬰兒死亡率比非洲撒哈拉沙漠以南地區更高。就都歸咎於印度政府在公共衛生上投放太少資源,醫療服務過度私有化。

在香港,雖然嬰兒夭折率是世界最低之一,但公型醫療資源不足,卻令很多市民被迫延長與疾病對峙的時間。現時本港公立醫院專科穩定新症輪候時間平均為 78 個星期,即一年半。但當疾病找上門,我們可以請它停一停、等一等嗎?病房爆滿、公立醫院醫生護士人手不足、漫長的輪候時間,問題徵結在制度及資源不足。

有質素的公共醫療服務不應該是奢侈品。樂施會除了全球倡議,亦促請香港政府盡責任,推行進取及長遠的扶貧政策,增加經常性開支,對公共服務預算增撥367億港元。