Skip to main content
Start main content
DPR Korea floods

The Situation

A devastating flood triggered by Typhoon Lionrock in the northeast of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPR Korea) in late August 2016 caused widespread damage and casualties across 15 counties and cities. Over 70,000 people lost their homes while more than 500 people died or gone missing. People were most in need of food and building materials for shelters. The DPR Korea government officially launched a public appeal for international aid at the time. 

Since temperatures in the mountainous areas of the northern part of DPR Korea could reach as low as -30 degrees Celsius during winter, families urgently needed to rebuild their houses as well as food to avoid malnutrition.

Oxfam Hong Kong’s Emergency Response

We completed an assessment with our local partners in DPR Korea in early October 2016. The affected area in Musan County was considerably large and the damage was serious. Over 10,000 houses had been destroyed or submerged. The flood also destructed 5,862.5 acres of arable land and crops; this could leave over 70,000 people food insecure. We therefore concentrated our relief efforts mainly in Musan County. 

Our response:

  • distributed emergency food relief to 6,000 people, including wheat flour and cooking oil enough for two months
  • provided metal roofing for 920 households so that the affected community  could build shelter and protect themselves against harsh weather
  • distributed two cotton duvets to each of the 2,257 households in Onsong County 

To ensure that donations truly used for the people affected by the floods, Oxfam staff were involved in all relief operations, from sourcing and purchasing to quality checking and distributing relief supplies. Our staff conducted the assessment as well as the quality and quantity check at Musan County in early October and November in 2016. Oxfam staff also revisited the affected families and conducted random checks to assess the effectiveness of our relief work in 2017 and 2018. All the emergency response projects were completed in February 2017.

Oxfam’s Rehabilitation Response

According to the assessment visits conducted by our staff, there was a need to restore critical infrastructure so that those affected by the floods could return to normal life. Oxfam restored the irrigation system and plastic sheet to a farm in Musan County in 2017 to help recovering agricultural production. 

Most of the basic necessities and personal belongings of families had been washed away or destroyed by the floods; families were in need of items like durable and customary tableware, Oxfam provided the kitchenware and tableware to these families to fill the gap. All the rehabilitation projects were completed in June 2018. In total, Oxfam allocated around HK$4.5 million to respond to this emergency and the rehabilitation. 

We ensure that donations for each emergency are used for the people affected by each disaster, and have a stringent monitoring system. Also, Oxfam staff are in charge of everything from sourcing to purchasing to quality checking to distributing relief supplies, and the entire process is open, fair and transparent.

Oxfam in DPR Korea

Oxfam has provided humanitarian relief and implemented development programmes in the DPR Korea since 1997. These efforts include the provision of emergency food assistance, and water, sanitation and hygiene to vulnerable groups. We also support agricultural rehabilitation and disaster risk reduction activities in cooperative farms to improve sustainable food production. Currently all projects in DPR Korea have been completed.

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容
朝鮮水災

災情概況

2016年8月底,朝鮮東北部地區受颱風吹襲,颱風帶來的強雨帶引發嚴重水災,沖毀大量民房及基礎建設,15個郡/市受影響。水災造成逾7萬人失去家園,流離失所,另有超過500人在洪災中死亡或失蹤。災情嚴重,朝鮮政府為是次水災向國際社會呼籲救援。 

當地冬季的氣溫可降至攝氏零下30度,災民急需糧食和庇護所,以渡過寒冬。 

緊急救援

2016年10月初,香港樂施會與當地合作夥伴評估災情後,發現重災區之一的茂山縣災情嚴重,當地逾10,000間平房被沖走,洪水沖擊5,862.5畝農作物,損毀嚴重,當地逾7萬人面臨糧食不足,因此,香港樂施會主要在茂山縣進行救援。 

香港樂施會的救援行動,包括:

  • 向6000名災民發放麵粉及食油
  • 向920戶家庭發放輕鋼瓦片,安裝在重建民房的屋頂作防風雪雨水之用
  • 在穩城郡向2,257戶家庭,派發了4,514張棉羽絨被 

為確保物資能有效地送到災民手上,香港樂施會的項目人員分別於2016年10月初及11月期間抵達當地進行災情評估及驗收救援物資,直接參與整個救援物資的採購、運送以至派發流程。我們的項目人員亦於2017年及2018年在當地進行回訪,以隨機抽樣的方式家訪災民,以評估救援工作的成效。 香港樂施會於2017年2月完成是次緊急救援階段的工作。

重建工作

據香港樂施會項目人員的現場評估,當地欠缺可供讓災民回復正常生活的基礎設施。因此,香港樂施會於2017年在茂山縣的農地安裝灌溉系統及派發塑料薄膜,以協助災民恢復農耕生產。

洪水沖走受災家庭的財物及基本生活用具,災民一無所有。樂施會向受災家庭發放廚房用具及餐具,以助災民盡快回復正常生活。相關的重建工作已於2018年6月完成。香港樂施會共撥款450萬港元進行是次救災及重建工作 。 

為確保捐款用於災民身上,樂施會設有嚴謹的監察制度,所有物資由採購、詢價、驗貨以至監察派發的過程,均由樂施會工作人員直接負責,過程公開、公正、透明。 

樂施會在朝鮮的工作

樂施會自1997年起已在朝鮮推行緊急救援及長遠扶貧發展工作,包括:向貧窮人及弱勢群體提供緊急糧食、食水及環境衛生設施;在合作社農場支持防災減災活動,並推廣生態農業及農場復耕計劃,以提高糧食生產。目前,我們在朝鮮的所有項目已經完結。