Skip to main content
Start main content

Oxfam's Food Support Project for Low-Income Families

樂施會「慳得有營餸基層」計劃

Give A Meal: Oxfam's Food Support Project for Low-Income Families

When a crisis like the coronavirus hits, it’s the poorest who suffer most. Faced with financial pressure, many families cut food costs to save money; but this often translates into poor nutrition, especially for their children.

 

About Give A Meal: Oxfam's Food Support Project for Low-Income Families

 

In collaboration with Sharing Kitchen, Concerning CSSA and Low Income Alliance, Hong Kong Dietitians Association and United Christian Nethersole Community Health Service, we aim to provide 600 low-income families that have children with nutritious meal kits over two years in four batches. Each batch of families will receive four meal kits a week that are specifically designed and recommended by a dietitian for six months (providing a total of 62,400 packs over the two years). The dietitians will also equip families with basic knowledge on nutrition and healthy eating.
 

Project participants' sharing

Oxfam's Food Support Project for Low-Income Families


Project Objectives

Nutritious Meal Kits

  • We aim to provide 600 low-income families that have children with nutritious meal kits that are specifically designed and recommended by dietitians. Each family will receive a total of 104 meal kits for six months.

Knowledge Transfer

  • Each family will participate in one talk and three cooking classes to gain basic knowledge on nutrients requirements and healthy eating. Weekly nutrition feeds and recipes are shared online to keep them informed.

 

Job Opportunities

  • Each Given the current economic situation, part-time jobs were created for low-income women to help prepare the meal kits.

Everyone deserves a nutritious meal.

Donate today to support GIVE A MEAL: OXFAM’S FOOD SUPPORT PROJECT FOR LOW-INCOME FAMILIES!

Donate now

 

Making a one-off donation of $256, you will give one low-income family meal kits for four weeks.                 Making a one-off donation of $832, you will give one low-income family meal kits for three months.                   Making a one-off donation of $1,664, you will give one low-income family meal kits for six months. Making a one-off donation of $3,328, you will give two low-income families meal kits for six months.

 

Limited edition Oxfam x Le Petit Prince Silicone Collapsible Lunch Box

Limited edition Oxfam x Le Petit Prince Silicone Collapsible Lunch Box

Go green for Mother Earth! Proceeds will support more low-income families through Give A Meal: Oxfam's Food Support Project for Low-Income Families. 

order now 

What Project Participants Are Saying 

Ah Kuen, a project participant

‘In the past, I cooked for the sake of the family, but now I have found joy in it!’

Ah Kuen, a project participant (right)

 

‘Do you like to cook?’ we asked.

‘Cooking used to tire me out,’ said Ah Kuen. ‘With the recipes and meal kits I’ve received from this project though, my son began to enjoy eating what I prepared. And I realised, this could be fun after all!’

Ah Kuen has a 12-year-old who was underweight two years ago. He was then referred to a hospital for further check-ups and the doctor told her to prepare more nutritious meals to improve her son’s health. Ah Kuen doubted whether she could afford to buy what was considered nutritious. And with the limited amount of space to cook at home and the rising price of food, she felt an overwhelming sense of helplessness because she felt like she was not providing enough for her family. 

In the past, Ah Kuen usually bought discounted fish and vegetables before the wet market closed. She knew incorporating meat into her cooking would improve her son’s appetite, but she could not afford to buy meat for every meal. 

Through this project though, which we are implementing in collaboration with several local partners, Ah Kuen now receives four meal kits a week specifically designed and recommended by dietitians. The dietitians took the rising food costs into consideration, so that even after the project ends, participants will know what affordable and nutritious ingredients they can buy.  

Talking about the dishes, Ah Kuen said that the sweet and sour fish she learnt to make has become her son’s favourite dish. Thinking back to the last time she made it, she couldn’t help but smile as she said, ‘He loves it so much that he asked if he could have the whole dish last time!’

With the recipes, cooking no longer troubles Ah Kuen. She’s seen positive changes in her son’s appetite and even finds joy in learning how to make new dishes. The changes she’s seen has led her to share the recipes with her family and friends and encourage them to make them.

‘I used to think healthy ingredients had to be pricy. But it turns out good ingredients don’t have to be that expensive!’ Ah Kuen shared. Through this project, she’s also learnt to read nutrition labels as well as what ingredients complement each other. With this knowledge, her cooking has become much more creative and nutritious.
 

Ah Kuen’s son’s favourite dish: Sweet and sour fish
Ah Kuen’s son’s favourite dish: Sweet and sour fish. (Photo provided by Ah Kuen)
All recipes and meal kits are designed and recommended by dietitians, and have a good balance of meat and vegetables.
All recipes and meal kits are designed and recommended by dietitians, and have a good balance of meat and vegetables. (Photo provided by Ah Kuen)

 

Wai Lan, a project partcipant

‘When my daughter eats now, she always says, ‘Mommy, yummy, yummy!’

Wai Lan, a project participant

 

Wai Lan’s husband – the breadwinner of the family – works 12-hour night shifts to support his family of three. Their rent and utility bills usually take up 60 per cent of the family’s income, so Wai Lan tries to cut costs in other areas of their lives. She even has to cut back on buying toys for her daughter – even ones that cost $10 because that’s money that could be spent on a meal; in fact, that’s what they spend, on average, on each meal. 

To save on food costs, Wai Lan walks to Pei Ho Street Market to buy groceries rain or shine, even if it takes her more time. ‘There is a market right around the corner from where I stay, but I would rather walk farther for better deals. Believe it or not, before the wet market closes, I can get three items for $10! Groceries usually cost me less than $100 and that food lasts us a few days.’

In the past, she was only able to cook simply and prepare the same dishes over and over again because Wai Lan’s daughter was a picky eater and they had very little space to cook. Soon after joining the project though, Wai Lan learnt new ways to mix and match different ingredients and is overjoyed whenever she sees how much everyone enjoys the healthy meals she now prepares. 

‘When my daughter eats now, she always gives me a thumbs up and says, “Mommy, yummy, yummy!”’ Wai Lan recounted excitedly. She now experiences a satisfaction she’s never had from cooking. 

The recipe for making steamed egg with cabbage and meat rolls impressed Wai Lan the most: ‘I’ve never thought of using oats to cook; it adds a lot of texture!’ The recipes and meal kits have inspired her to be creative with the ingredients she uses. With the pan-fried lotus root patty recipe suggested by dietitians, Wai Lan added in carrots and barley for more texture. With the hope of inspiring and encouraging others, she shares the recipes she’s received with family and friends. 

One of the main objectives of the project is to equip people  from low-income households with the skills and knowledge needed to cook nutritious and affordable meals. Wai Lan’s experience is a true testament to how empowering someone with knowledge can go a long way.

 

Posted on the refrigerator are the recipes the dietitians have put together that are attached to the meal kits. Wai Lan looks forward to receiving new recipes through the project as she finds them inspiring and easy to follow.
Posted on the refrigerator are the recipes the dietitians have put together that are attached to the meal kits. Wai Lan looks forward to receiving new recipes through the project as she finds them inspiring and easy to follow. (Photo: Adi Gunawan / Oxfam)
Two of Wai Lan’s favourite dishes. The novel way of wrapping meat rolls has also inspired her to modify the recipe for pan-fried lotus root patties.
Two of Wai Lan’s favourite dishes. The novel way of wrapping meat rolls has also inspired her to modify the recipe for pan-fried lotus root patties. (Photo: Adi Gunawan / Oxfam)


What Project Partners Are Saying

 

Dodo from Sharing Kitchen

‘Many kitchenhands at Sharing Kitchen have been hard hit by the coronavirus and have been put on unpaid leave. That’s why they are very happy to have this part-time job to help prepare the meal kits in the meantime!’

Founder of Sharing Kitchen Hong Kong, Dodo Cheng Yiu-tung

 

Spokesperson of Hong Kong Dietitians Association, Sylvia See Way Lam (APD Australia)

‘When creating the recipes, we took the limited space low-income families have and rising food costs into consideration. In the long run, all project participants will be able to cook affordable and nutritious meals for their families.’

Spokesperson of Hong Kong Dietitians Association, Sylvia See Way Lam (APD Australia) 

 

 

Everyone deserves a nutritious meal.

Donate today to support GIVE A MEAL: OXFAM’S FOOD SUPPORT PROJECT FOR LOW-INCOME FAMILIES!

Donate now

跳往主要内容
开始主要内容

樂施會「慳得有營餸基層」計劃

乐施会「悭得有营????基层」计划

乐施会「悭得有营餸基层」计划

新冠肺炎疫情令香港整体经济受挫,基层家庭首当其冲,面对持续的停工及失业问题,贫穷住户只可节衣缩食减轻经济负担,长远影响基层学童的营养摄取及健康成长。

关于「悭得有营基层」计划

 

考虑到本地基层家庭的困境,乐施会于2020年4月下旬起,联同共厨家作、关注综援及低收入联盟、香港营养师协会以及基督教联合拿打素社康服务,推出「悭得有营餸基层」计划,未来两年为600户有儿童的基层㓥房家庭,提供持续半年,并切合营养需求的食物援助。每户除了每星期获发4包由营养师设计菜单的新鲜餸菜包外(两年合共提供62,400包),营养师更会教授健康饮食及烹调知识,长远达致「用小钱,煮得有营」。

 

「悭得有营餸基层」计划
受惠家庭分享

 

 

计划目的

 

食物援助服务

  • 让家庭每周获取由注册营养师精心设计四款「乐施有营餸菜包」,为期半年,每户在计划内会收到共104包有营餸包

营养知识传递

  • 每户家庭可于计划内参加一次讲座及三次烹饪班,并每周定期接受健康饮食及烹调的资讯,更有机会参与营养师撰写有营食谱

基层妇女就业

  • 为基层妇女提供就业机会,每份有营餸菜包,均由共厨家作的基层妇女亲手准备

你的支持让我们继续努力,适切为基层家庭带来援助、授予营养知识!

立即捐款

单次捐款$256,便可为1户基层㓥房家庭提供四星期「有营????菜包」。 单次捐款$832,便可为1户基层㓥房家庭提供3个月「有营????菜包」。 单次捐款$1,664,便可为1户基层㓥房家庭提供6个月「有营????菜包」。 单次捐款$3,328,便可为2户基层㓥房家庭提供6个月「有营????菜包」。
 

限量版Oxfam x Le Petit Prince折叠式环保餐盒

限量版Oxfam x Le Petit Prince折叠式环保餐盒

大家可以由改变日常习惯开始,注重饮食卫生之余,亦可为保护地球出一分力!餐盒款项将透过乐施会「悭得有营餸基层」计划为更多基层家庭带来援助、授予营养知识!

立即订购


参加者分享

Ah Kuen

「以前下厨只为照顾家人,但原来这也是一件开心事!」

「悭得有营餸基层」参加者阿娟(图右)


探访阿娟的那天,我们跟她一起逛街市,一路上她分享了很多选择餸菜的心得。

「阿娟,你喜欢下厨吗?」

「之前买餸是烦恼,参加了计划之后,跟著你们提供的食谱煮餸,见到阿仔钟意食、食得开心,我才知道煮食原来是一件开心事!」

阿娟有一个儿子,今年12岁。跟很多母亲的心愿一样,阿娟最希望孩子健康快乐地成长。两年前,儿子因为体重过轻,被健康院转介到医院跟进情况,医生提醒阿娟要让儿子多食有营养的食品。

「有营养的食物?是指好的食材吗?我能负担得起吗?」医生的建议,落在阿娟心坎里,化成很多疑问。家庭经济拮据,买什么才算有营养的食材呢?家中的「厨房」只有一张小枱子,煮食空间狭窄,简单的蒸、灼、炒,能够煮出什么?一连串的疑问,也令她产生担忧。

阿娟平日买餸,多数趁街市收档之前买几份特价的鱼和菜。但能令孩子胃口大开的不是菜亦不是鱼,而是其他肉类。阿娟都希望孩子能尽量多吃一点,但实在不是经常负担得起。「怎样才能提升孩子食欲?」曾经,这是阿娟每次买餸都会苦苦思索的问题。

今年4月中下旬,乐施会联同多个伙伴团体推出「悭得有营餸基层」计划,阿娟是计划参加者之一,除了每周获发四个「餸菜包」,亦获得营养师设计的食谱,食谱内还附有营养资讯,让参与家庭学习用小钱煮得「有营」。每个餸菜包的食材总价格与基层家庭的买餸开支相若,即使计划完结后,街坊仍可自行负担购买这些材料。阿娟跟我们分享,儿子十分喜欢她新学的菜式糖醋鱼柳,「阿仔好钟意食,问我:『妈妈,可以整碟都给我食吗?』」阿娟边说边笑,双眼都瞇起来。

儿子的食量明显增加,让阿娟放下心头大石,也感受到煮食带来的满足感。按著食谱,阿娟能煮出让她满意的餸菜,每次她都会拍照留念,并且跟亲朋戚友分享学到的新知识,把知识在朋友圈及社区传播出去。

阿娟说:「以前以为有营养的食物都会是贵价,参加计划后才知道,原来有营养的食物一直在身边,可负担之余亦不难买到。」她还学懂了看营养标签、学懂不同的烹调方式和菜式配搭,即使日后计划完结,「学满师」后也能够继续煮出有营养的食物。

 
这碟是阿娟煮的糖醋鱼柳,是阿娟儿子最爱的食谱之一,味道酸酸甜甜让胃口大开。(相片由阿娟提供)
这碟是阿娟煮的糖醋鱼柳,是阿娟儿子最爱的食谱之一,味道酸酸甜甜让胃口大开。(相片由阿娟提供)
「悭得有营????基层」计划的????菜和食谱都由营养师精心设计,有菜有肉,营养均衡。这碟是阿娟煮的香茅肉碎炒豆角。(相片由阿娟提供)
「悭得有营餸基层」计划的餸菜和食谱都由营养师精心设计,有菜有肉,营养均衡。(相片由阿娟提供)

 

 

 
惠兰

「阿女一边食,一边举起手指公说『妈咪,Yummy、Yummy』,真的让我好开心。」

「悭得有营餸基层」参加者惠兰

 


丈夫一人工作养起一家三口,通宵更日做12小时,租金及水电费已占家庭入息约6成,所以其他生活开支,惠兰一定要悭。十多元的玩具,即使女儿想要,也不能买给女儿——十多元,已经是一餐饭的平均买餸开支了。

每次买餸,惠兰都会选择来回走半个多小时的路到北河街街市,冬天、夏天、落雨天同样如是,「我家楼下有街市,只是比较贵,我宁愿走远一点,用$100一次过买几天的餸,临收档前可以用$10买到3份餸呢!」

家中煮食空间有限,而且只有一个煲,惠兰只能重复煮简单的菜式;加上4岁的女儿有点挑食,每次哄女儿食饭都让惠兰感到烦恼。参加「悭得有营餸基层」计划之后,惠兰跟著由营养师精心配搭的食谱,学懂运用不同食材配搭,逐渐煮出让女儿大赞、自己满意且价钱相宜的菜式。

「阿女愿意自己食饭,一边食一边说:『妈咪,好好味!』,还举起手指公呢。」惠兰开心地模仿女儿举起手指公的模样,而这是惠兰之前从未有过、由煮食带来的满足感。

让惠兰最感到惊喜的食谱是「娃娃菜肉卷蒸蛋」,做法是把麦皮混入免治猪肉,用娃娃菜卷起、加蛋,一并蒸熟。惠兰表示:「从未想过麦皮可以煮餸,加了麦皮口感好特别」,前所未有的煮食经验也启发了她的创意,「营养师教了我们煎藕饼的食谱,我觉得可以加入胡萝卜、薏米,增加口感。」每次收到食谱,她也会拍下来发给亲友,希望身边的人也可以跟她一样,愈煮愈「有营」。

教导基层妇女以经济价格配搭出高营养价值的菜式,是我们计划的目标之一,也是惠兰所期望学习到的。听著惠兰愉快的分享,相信她的期盼已经达成。

惠兰的雪柜上贴上计划提供的食谱
惠兰的雪柜上贴上计划提供的食谱,她认为营养师编写的食谱步骤清晰、做法简单,连调味步骤都有清楚说明,让她每一次都十分期待收到食谱,也从中启发了她不同食材的新配搭。(相片:阮永坚 / 乐施会)
「马蹄鲮鱼煎藕饼」(左碟)和「卷心菜肉卷蒸蛋」(右碟)
「马蹄鲮鱼煎藕饼」(左碟)和「娃娃菜肉卷蒸蛋」(右碟)是惠兰最喜欢的两个食谱。新颖的肉卷制法,更启发了她把煎藕饼的食谱加以改良。

 

合作伙伴分享

Dodo from Sharing Kitchen

「大部分家厨都正在放无薪假的基层雇员。有家厨提到这段时间唯有减省开支,靠积蓄度日。他们十分高兴可以在共厨参与做餸包,暂时帮补家计!」

「共厨家作」创办人郑耀彤 (Dodo)

 

Dietitian sharing recipe

 

「我们设计的每份有营餸均会考虑到基层家庭食物开支的预算,长远让他们体验到如何悭钱下都能照顾家人所需。」

香港营养师协会代表澳洲注册营养师林思为

 

由香港营养师协会提供的食谱

「星空」茶碗蒸娃娃菜肉卷蒸蛋吞拿鱼蔬菜煎饼
南瓜芋头鸡粒电饭煲煲仔饭整个蕃茄虾仁炖饭糖醋鱼柳
日式姜汁豚肉烧  

 

    日子再艰难,孩子飮食不能悭!与乐施会同心同行,为下一代共建美好健康的未来!

    你的支持让我们继续努力,适切为基层家庭带来援助、授予营养知识!

    立即捐款