Skip to main content
Start main content

Poverty among ethnic minorities

Poverty among ethnic minorities

This photo, taken by Ducky Tse, was first exhibited at the ‘Do you read me?’ photo exhibition.

The Situation

According to the 2016 report on poverty among ethnic minorities in Hong Kong, the poverty rate among South Asian children (29.1 per cent) is significantly higher than that of all children in Hong Kong (i.e. 12.1 per cent). With the former more than double than that of the latter, it is clear that a considerable number of ethnic minorities live in poverty.

Since many South Asian children have a limited grasp of Chinese, their career options as adults are often limited to ‘3D’ jobs, i.e. dirty, dangerous and demeaning jobs; these are often low-paying jobs too. As such, this fuels intergenerational poverty.

One of the most direct ways of enabling these children to escape poverty is by providing them the support necessary to become proficient in Chinese. Oxfam Hong Kong has thus been conducting research on how to better support non-Chinese speaking students’ Chinese learning as well as on government policies in this area, and are undertaking public education initiatives to make the needs of ethnic minorities more visible.
 

he Four Poverties in Hong Kong

 

hOW WE'RE HELPING

Start from the Beginning – Chinese Supporting Scheme for Non-Chinese Speaking Students in Kindergarten

Befriending the Chinese Language


Oxfam Hong Kong, the University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong University of Education launched the ‘Start from the Beginning – Chinese Supporting Scheme for Non-Chinese Speaking Students in Kindergarten’ in 2015. The programme involves:

  • Providing interactive enrichment classes for non-Chinese speaking children (Chinese classes are held separately from Chinese-speaking children; non-Chinese and Chinese-speaking students attend other classes together).
  • Offering non-Chinese speaking students with individual/two-person and group study timeslots (1 to 1.5 hours a week) so that teachers can better meet their needs. This also gives students more opportunities to speak and ask questions.
  • Developing a curriculum, teaching materials, teaching methods and evaluation tools that target the learning needs of non-Chinese speaking students.
  • Studying theories on second language learning and cognitive theories on Chinese learning to develop a variety of teaching materials (e.g. picture books and children’s songs); developing activities appropriate for non-Chinese speaking kindergartners (e.g. reading picture books, singing children’s songs, vocabulary games, learning words through actions, etc.); helping non-Chinese speaking children to broaden their vocabulary, strengthen their mastery of the structure of Chinese characters, and improve their ability to speak, listen, express themselves, learn sentence patterns, etc.

After two years of implementing this project, non-Chinese speaking kindergartners’ Chinese has improved significantly and has made them more motivated to learn the language. They enjoy their Chinese enrichment classes because the classes have enabled the children to better communicate with their Chinese-speaking classmates and participate more actively in class, and have boosted their confidence. This project is funded by Oxfam and Social Innovation Fund.

Overcoming the Language Barrier

Khan Usra

‘To live in Hong Kong, we must learn Chinese,’

- Khan Usra

The mother of two participants of our porject  'Start from the Beginning' , she is happy that her children study at one of the kindergartens implementing the pilot scheme.

 


Currently, there are about 451,000 people of non-Chinese descent living in Hong Kong. Without any support in Chinese language learning, however, many ethnic minority children find it difficult to pick up the language. Their lack of proficiency in Chinese often limits their job choices and contributes to the higher-than-average poverty rate among the ethnic minority population.

Oxfam has been working with the University of Hong Kong and the Education University of Hong Kong to implement the ‘Start from the Beginning – Chinese Supporting Scheme for Non-Chinese speaking Students in Kindergarten’ from 2015. Through pictures, stories, songs, experiential learning, group and individual learning, we aim to demonstrate effective ways of teaching ethnic minority children Chinese.

‘To live in Hong Kong, we must learn Chinese,’ said Khan Usra, a Pakistani mum of two who study at one of the kindergartens implementing the pilot scheme.

With her family set to stay here for the long haul, she sent her kids to a Chinese kindergarten so they could start learning the local language from a young age. ‘Lo see (the teacher) says my children are picking up Chinese very well [through this programme],’ she said.

Since the pilot scheme began two years ago, teachers and parents have seen much improvement; some kindergarteners even scored top marks in their Chinese exam.

With the success of this scheme, we’ve also been urging the Education Bureau to establish a Chinese as a second language curriculum, and provide sufficient resources and support to kindergartens that admit non-Chinese speaking students. We also encourage these kindergartens to ensure teachers are adequately trained.

More than just a job search service

Tanveer

'I want to find a job that has good opportunities for development, but I don’t know where to.’
                                                   -Tanveer

With the support of our programme, Tanveer is now on his way to becoming an engineer.

 

Every year, tens of thousands of secondary school students graduate, but most of them cannot further their studies and instead need to work. With the few skills and little experience they have though, it’s not easy for even a Chinese-speaking graduate to find a job with a promising future, let alone an ethnic minority secondary school graduate. 

‘I want to find a job that has good promotion prospects and opportunities for development, but I don’t know where to find a job like that,’ Tanveer, a 20-year-old Pakistani secondary school graduate, said in fluent Cantonese. He, who used to work as a part-time baggage handler at the airport, wants to find a better job. Through the support of Oxfam’s partner, the Catholic Diocese of Hong Kong – Diocesan Pastoral Centre for Workers (Kowloon), a social worker asked Tanveer about his skills and expectations, and found him an elevator mechanic apprenticeship interview. With little knowledge about the industry and a low salary on offer, Tanveer was slightly hesitant at first. After learning that completing the four year programme meant that he could obtain the qualification he needed to become a registered lift worker, and eventually an engineer, he was greatly motivated to apply.

Together with the social worker, Tanveer went for two rounds of interviews and was ultimately given an offer. The in-depth career counselling services the Centre offers ethnic minorities has yielded much better results than that of the Labour Department. Aside from accompanying candidates to job interviews, social workers at the Centre also meet with candidates’ parents to help them better understand their children’s aspirations and career choices, and encourage them to support and respect their children. The aim of the Centre’s career counselling services isn’t just to get job seekers hired though, but to develop their job search skills, expand their horizons and secure jobs that offer better working conditions and prospects.

On the day Tanveer signed his contract, the social worker who accompanied him went through the contract with Tanveer’s father. Tanveer said, ‘I really hope to have my family’s support over these next four years!’

Oxfam’s Policy research and advocacy

JAN 2020A Study on the Challenges Faced by Mainstream Schools in Educating Ethnic Minorities in Hong Kong, infographic
JAN 2018Oxfam's response to the government's submission of public comments on the implementation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights to Chinese language education for non-Chinese speaking students in Hong Kong
aug 2016Oxfam's comments on the revision of the ‘Pre-primary Education Curriculum Guide’ (2006) (discussion draft): Guidelines for the establishment of Chinese as a Second Language for non-Chinese speaking children*
jan 2016 Survey on the Enhanced Chinese Learning and Teaching Support For Non-Chinese Speaking Students in Primary and Secondary Schools
nov 2014‘Do you read me?’ photo exhibition
dec 2014Survey on the Chinese Learning Challenges South Asian Ethnic Minority Kindergarten Students from Low-Income Families Face 
jan 2014Second-language education policies abroad and in Hong Kong

*Report in Chinese only

Do you read me?

Do you read me?

‘Do you read me? A photo exhibition on how ethnic minorities learn Chinese’ was jointly organised by Oxfam and photojournalist Ducky Tse in 2014 to raise the awareness about the challenges ethnic minorities face when learning Chinese.

Learn more

跳往主要内容
开始主要内容

少数族裔与跨代贫穷

少数族裔与跨代贫穷

乐施会《看懂、看不懂》摄影展,谢至德作品。

香港现况

据《2016年香港少数族裔人士贫穷情况报告》2016 年政策介入后南亚裔有儿童住户的贫穷率(29.1%)仍显然高于全港有儿童住户(12.1%),前者为后者的近两倍半,反映不少少数族裔人士生活于贫穷之中。

而南亚裔的小朋友亦往往因中文语言水平的限制,长大后只能从事”3D jobs”的工作:Dirty, Dangerous, Demeaning(肮脏、危险、低下)工作,收入不足,令他们陷入跨代贫穷的问题。

要协助他们脱贫,最迫切的方法是让他们学好中文。乐施会就如何协助非华语生学习中文,及政府相关政策进行一系列研究,并推行公众教育工作,让少数族裔的需要被看见。
 

本港四大贫穷问题

 

乐施会的支援项目

从起步开始-幼稚园非华语学生学习中文支援计划

       我同中文做朋友

       成长道路任我走

 

乐施会与香港大学和香港教育大学在2015年起开展了一项「从起步开始-幼稚园非华语学生学习中文支援计划」,课程特色包括:

  • 为非华语幼儿提供互动式增润班(中文课部分时间和华语幼儿分开上课,接受额外的中文支援学习;其余时间跟大班一起学习);
  • 设有个人/二人,及小组学习时间(每星期1至1.5小时)由于课堂上只有非华语生,每名教师更能够照顾学生的学习差异、学生有更多机会 发问和说话;
  • 发展出一套专门为非华语幼儿而设,适用于全港幼稚园的中文第二语言课程、教材、教学法和评估工具;
  • 参考第二语言习得理论和中文认知心理学理论,设计多元化的教材(包括绘本和儿歌),适合非华语幼儿的教学活动(例如阅读绘本图书、咏唱儿歌、识字游戏、模拟动作等)和识字策略(例如综合高效识字、联想识字、部件识字、体验式学习等),帮助非华语幼儿扩阔词汇量,加强他们对汉字部件结构的掌握、提升口语聆听和表达技巧,学习运用句式等能力。

经过两年的教学研究,证实计划学与教的效果良好,非华语幼儿的中文水平有显著提升,更提高了学习中文的动机。他们喜欢参加抽离式中文增润班,因为返回原班后,有更佳的能力跟华语学生的交流,上课更积极参与,自信心也相应提高。此项目由乐施会、社创基金及瑞信配对资助。

学好中文 融入社会

Khan Usra, a Pakistani mum of two who study at one of the kindergartens implementing the pilot scheme.

「在香港住,在香港工作,我们必须学中文。」

----Khan Usra
 

「从起步开始─幼稚园非华语学生学习中文支援计划」参加学员母亲,孩子中文的进步让她感到自豪。


巴基斯坦裔的Khan Usra有两名子女在其中一间推行「从起步开始─幼稚园非华语学生学习中文支援计划」的幼稚园读书,她说:「在香港住,在香港工作,我们必须学中文。」

Usra一家以香港为家,她选择送两名子女到一间中文幼儿园读书,好让他们可以从小开始学习中文。她说:「老师说,这计划能让我的两名孩子好好学中文。」

先导计划进行了两年,成果非常显著。不少家长、老师及校长均反映非华语幼儿的中文进步了不少,更有幼儿在升读小学后,在中文考试中获得第一名,令人鼓舞。

我们促请教育局在幼稚园阶段推行中文作为第二语言课程,并给予所有收录少数族裔学生的幼稚园提供足够的资源及支援,更建议聘用一定比例接受过适当训练的教师,从而更有效支援少数族裔幼童学习中文。

多行一步的就业支援服务

Tanveer

「我想找一份有更多晋升机会和发展前景更好的工作,但苦无资讯。」

-Tanveer

20岁巴基斯坦裔中学文凭试毕业生Tanveer,经过项目深入的就业辅导,决定向升降机工程专业进发。

 

每年香港中学文凭试毕业生数以万计,那些未能升读本地大专院校的学生大多需要投入社会工作。然而,以他们有限的能力和经验,一般华人毕业生要找到一份有发展前景的工作并不容易,更何况是南亚少数族裔毕业生。

「我想找一份有更多晋升机会和发展前景更好的工作,但苦无资讯。」20岁巴基斯坦裔中学文凭试毕业生Tanveer以广东话说。曾经在机场当过兼职行李搬运员,Tanveer希望可以找到一份更好前途的工作。在乐施会的伙伴团体天主教教区劳工牧民中心(牧民中心)的协助下,个案社工了解到Tanveer的能力和对工作的期望,便安排了一份电梯维修学徒的工作给他去面试。由于从未接触过这行业及薪酬不太高,Tanveer起初对这份工作有所犹豫,但当他知道完成四年学徒训练后可以考取注册升降机工程人员及可再进修成为工程师,便增强了他接受这份工作的动力和信心。

在社工的协助和陪同下,Tanveer进行了两次面试,最终获得聘任。事实上,牧民中心为少数族裔所提供的这种个案模式的深入就业辅导服务,成功就业比率较劳工处所提供的高很多。除了陪同求职者去面试外,社工有时还会约见求职者的父母,让家长了解子女的职志和选择,盼他们能给予尊重和支持。 

牧民中心这项深入就业辅导服务的重要性,不但在于能否使求职者获聘任,更在于求职者能否获得更多求职技巧和资讯,以致扩阔他们的视野,成功获得条件更佳和更有前景的工作。

在签约当天,社工向Tanveer的父亲解释合约内容,「我希望在未来四年都会得到家人的支持!」Tanveer由衷地说。

乐施会的政策研究及倡议

2020年1月香港主流学校教育少数族裔学生所面对的挑战之研究(2020),资讯图表
2018年1月乐施会回应政府就《公民权利和政治权利国际公约》实施情况公众意见咨询对本港非华语学生的中文教育提交的意见书
2016年8月乐施会就「修订《学前教育课程指引》(2006)建议重点(讨论稿)」的意见- 须为非华语学童设立中文作为第二语言的指引
2016年1月中小学为非华语学生提供中文学习支援研究调查
2014年11月公众教育活动《看懂、看不懂》:少数族裔学生的中文学习生活 摄影展
2014年12月低收入家庭南亚裔幼稚园学生的中文学习挑战研究调查
2014年1月英语国家与香港的「第二语言政策」的比较 

 

《看懂、看不懂》

《看懂、看不懂》

《看懂、看不懂》──少数族裔学生的中文学习生活摄展,由乐施会和谢至德在2014年合办,让参观者了解少数族裔朋友学习中文时遇到的困难。

了解更多


了解更多本地贫穷问题