Skip to main content
Start main content

Working Poverty and Labour Rights

Working poverty and labour rights

Liu Ka-yee's ‘Cleaner's Theme Park’ which was displayed at ‘Poverty. Full-time.’ An art exhibition on working poverty. (Photo: Ducky Tse)

The Situation

Working poverty has become a serious issue. According to the Hong Kong Poverty Situation Report 2018, 475,600 people, or over 144,600 households, made up the working poor in Hong Kong. Since the minimum wage was introduced in 2011, it has always lagged behind inflation and has thus continued to keep many who work poor.

That is why Oxfam has continued to urge the government to review the minimum wage level to ensure it meets the basic needs of workers and their families. We are also calling on the government to review the minimum wage at least once a year so that it keeps up with inflation, and review its outsourcing system to protect low-income outsourced workers.
 

Employment Situation Amidst the Epidemic

 Employment Situation Amidst the Epidemic Press Conference

 ‘Survey on low-income families’ employment situation amidst the epidemic’ 

Oxfam together with three other civil society organisations, we conducted the survey. We found that unemployment among low-income families had increased by 400 per cent since Chinese New Year. 

learn more

Outsourced Government Cleaners’ Working Conditions Amidst Epidemic

While distributing masks and hand sanitiser, we worked with our partners to interview 149 cleaners from across 15 districts to understand cleaners’ working conditions during the epidemic. The results were announced at our joint press conference on 18 February; many interviewees said they were ill equipped. We thus urge the government and outsourced cleaning companies to provide cleaners with the protective equipment they need. Learn more here.


hOW WE'RE HELPING
Making Poverty Wages

Madame Hing

‘Usually, people cover their noses when they’re around cleaners, but after the exhibition, some of the residents would cheer me on when they see me; they make me feel respected.’ 

----Madam Hing

Madam Hing is proud to see her own photo displayed at the exhibition, calling for care on the situations of grassroot workers. (Photo: Derek Yung)


‘The garbage stinks to high heaven, especially when I come in on summer mornings,’ said Madam Hing, who has been working as a cleaner for 11 years.

It’s not just the pungent odour she needs to deal with though. ‘When bags of rubbish fall through the refuse chute into the garbage bins, shards of glass and other rubbish fly in all directions, easily hurting anyone around,’ she said explaining the dangers of her work.

Hing works nine hours a day and makes minimum wage. She said, ‘Every day I throw out hundreds of kilograms of garbage and it’s quite physically taxing. Sometimes, I really wish I could take a day off to rest.’ Although labour laws require employees to take a day off for every six days of work, employers often pressure employees to continue working, using what little they make in a day as motivation and the lack of manpower as an excuse. This, however, means many low-income workers need to work continuously for extended periods of time.

Aside from long working hours, these workers also lack labour protection. ‘Every few years, employers make us sign new contracts so that we aren’t able to receive Long Service Payment,’ said Hing annoyedly. She went on, ‘Minimum wage is too low; it should be raised.’

To help the public better understand the challenges those in working poverty face, we partnered with photographer Ducky Tse to hold ‘Poverty. Full-time: An art exhibition on working poverty’ in January 2017. Not only did the exhibition draw many visitors, it also garnered much media attention and helped the wider public better understand and even change their attitudes towards low-income workers.

Oxfam has long been concerned about the difficulties low-income workers face. That’s why we’ll continue fighting to bring change to labour laws. We’re doing everything from calling on the government to review minimum wage and ensuring it keeps up with inflation, to urging it to improve labour protection for those employed under non-continuous contracts.

 

'Street cleaners are the true pride of Hong Kong!'

---- Ng On-yee


Women’s world snooker champion Ng On-yee got a taste of what being a cleaner was like, as she took part in curator Ducky Tse’s photo shoot for  the exhibition. 

 

Poverty. Full-time

Poverty. Full-time. 

In January 2017, Oxfam partnered with photographer Ducky Tse to organise ‘Poverty. Full-time. An art exhibition on working poverty’. Eleven visual art teams participated in it to encourage the public to reflect on the value of labour. Learn more about the exhibition below.

Learn more

 

Oxfam’s Policy research

mar 2020Employment Situation Amidst the Epidemic
Dec 2018Report on Hong Kong Living Wage Research
oct 2018Hong Kong Inequality Report
jun 2017Research on Low-Income Casual Work in Hong Kong
oct 2016Hong Kong Poverty Report 2011-2015 (2016)
sep 2015Report on Hong Kong’s Working Poor (2010 – 2014)
dec 2013Report on the Living Standards of Working Poor Families with Children
apr 2013Trends of the Working Poor and Proposal for a Low Income Family Subsidy
nov 2012Oxfam Hong Kong Poverty Report: Employment and Poverty in Hong Kong Families (2003-2012)

跳往主要内容
开始主要内容

在职贫穷与劳工待遇

在职贫穷与劳工待遇

上图为「劳力是......穷得只剩份工」视觉艺术展参展艺术家廖家宜作品「清洁工主题乐园」,谢至德摄。

香港现况

香港的在职贫穷问题严重,据《2018年香港贫穷情况报告》,2018年在职贫穷家庭有逾14.5万户,人口达47.6万。有工作而未能脱贫,与法定最低工资水平过低息息相关。

乐施会促请政府检视最低工资水平,保证水平足以令打工仔应付自己同家庭的基本生活需要;最低工资每年一检,以至让劳工阶层收入能追上通胀;并检讨外判制度,保障基层工友。

疫情下失业问题冲击基层家庭

疫情下失业问题冲击基层家庭

《基层市民在疫情下的就业情况问卷调查》

乐施会联同三个民间团体发布了调查结果,显示农历新年后基层工友失业人数急升四倍,疫情正严重冲击基层家庭的生活。我们敦促政府向基层市民提供保障措施,包括为合资格的失业及就业不足人士发放每月5,800 元的短期失业津贴,为期至少6个月。

了解更多

 

疫情下的清洁工处境

在落区派发物资的同时,乐施会联同伙伴团体于2月初访问了全港15区共149位外判清洁工,进一步了解他们在疫情下的需要和困难。调查结果于2月18日公布,不少受访者表示保护装备严重不足。我们促请政府、外判清洁公司确保前线基层员工获得应有的保障。(了解更多)

    乐施会的支援项目

    制造在职贫穷的最低工资

     

    Madame Hing

    「很多市民见到清洁工都会『掩口掩鼻』,展览后,一些住客却对我说句加油,已经令我感受到尊重。」

    ---兴姐

    清洁工友兴姐杜建兴在「劳力是......穷得只剩份工」视觉艺术展开幕礼上看到自己的相片,大为自豪,希望更多人明白清洁工的辛劳和辛酸,争取合理回报。(摄影:Derek Yung)

     

    「特别是夏天,早上开工打开垃圾筒时,传出的气味真系好臭。」做了11年清洁工的兴姐说。

    垃圾不但臭,有时还可以是危险的利器。「当垃圾包沿垃圾槽从高层掉下时,冲力会弄破里面的玻璃樽,飞弹出来的碎片足以伤人。」满手伤痕的兴姐说,然而,她的工作完全没有保护装备,由清洁工具,甚至手套也要自己买。

    兴姐每日工作九小时,得到的是最低工资。她说:「每日清理数百斤垃圾,消耗很多体力,有时真系好想放假休息。」虽然法例规定员工每工作六日就有一日假,但雇主经常以不够人手为理由,威迫利诱工人不放假,令到基层工友经常要长期工作。每当遇上大时大节,尤其是农历新年前夕,垃圾量大增,兴姐更往往要凌晨三时就开始工作到晚上。

    除工时长外,缺乏应有的劳工保障是基层工友经常面对的另一困境。「雇主很多时每数年跟工友重新签约,令我们不能领取到长期服务金。」兴姐带点不忿地说:「最低工资实在太低,应该上调一下。」目前政府外判合约中「价低者得」的投标安排,其实是默许承办商为了成功投标而牺牲工友利益。

    为令市民能更了解基层工友的生活以及在职贫穷的问题,乐施会于2017年1月与策展人谢至德一起举办「劳力是......穷得只剩份工」视觉艺术展。清洁、保安、速递工友亲身向参展的艺术家分享他们的处境和困难,艺术家从中吸收理解,并创作艺术作品。清洁工兴姐便是其中一位艺术家探访的工友。

    女子桌球世界冠军吴安仪也跟著兴姐代入清洁工的身份,参与策展人谢至德作品《有名有姓》的拍摄,呼吁公众一同关注在职贫穷问题,也为兴姐打气。
     

    「清洁的工作看似低下,其实在社会中十分重要。(清洁工)才是香港之光!」

    ----吴安仪


    女子桌球世界冠军吴安仪参与策展人谢至德作品《有名有姓》的拍摄,体验清洁工兴姐的前线工作,呼吁公众一同关注在职贫穷问题,也为兴姐打气。

     

     

    Poverty. Full-time

    「劳力是......」

    乐施会2017年和摄影谢至德一起策划了「劳力是......穷得只剩份工」视觉艺术展,有11个艺术单位参与,希望透过艺术引发公众反思劳动价值。

    了解更多

     


    乐施会的政策研究及倡议

    2020年6月就「检讨法定最低工资水平」的意见书
    2020年3月基层市民在疫情下的就业情况问卷调查
    2018年12月香港生活工资研究报告
    2018年10月香港不平等报告
    2017年6月低收入零散工概况调查报告
    2016年10月香港贫穷状况报告 2011至2015
    2015年10月乐施会就推动取消强积金抵消遣散费和长期服务金安排的建议
    2015年9月香港在职贫穷报告2010至2014
    2013年12月有儿童的在职贫穷家庭生活状况意见调查
    2013年4月在职贫穷趋势及低收入家庭补贴建议
    2012年11月香港在职贫穷家庭状况报告2003至2012


    了解更多本地贫穷问题