Skip to main content

Important Notice

  • 13 NOV 2019

    Oxfam Trailwalker 2019 cancelled

    The event, which was set to be held on 15-17 Nov has been cancelled. Please visit the Oxfam Trailwalker's Facebook page and website for more details. 

Start main content

Chinese Agricultural Foreign-Investment in Laos Seminar

Oxfam Hong Kong publishes book Agribusiness Investments in Laos Opportunities and Challenges for Poverty Reduction

On 18-19 August 2012, the seminar ‘Chinese Agricultural Foreign-Investment in Laos’ was jointly held in Kunming by the College of Economics and Management of Yunnan Agricultural University and Oxfam Hong Kong. The seminar facilitated multi-stakeholder dialogue among academics, business people, and NGO representatives to explore how to improve corporate social responsibility practices in Chinese investment in Laos. About 20 delegates participated.

Oxfam Hong Kong officially announced its newly published book Agribusiness Investments in Laos: Opportunities and Challenges for Poverty Reduction at the seminar. The Oxfam-commissioned book was authored by Heike Baumüller and Kate Lazarus, and translated and edited by Professor Yaqiao Zhao, from the College of Economics and Management at Yunnan Agricultural University. Through case studies, the 84–page book outlines the current status, trends, driving forces, opportunities and challenges of agricultural investment from China, Vietnam and Thailand in Laos.

Chinese Agricultural Foreign-Investment in Laos Seminar was jointly held in Kunming by the College of Economics and Management of Yunnan Agricultural University and Oxfam Hong Kong on 18-19 August 2013.

Chinese Agricultural Foreign-Investment in Laos Seminar was jointly held in Kunming by the College of Economics and Management of Yunnan Agricultural University and Oxfam Hong Kong on 18-19 August 2013.

 

Haiqing Sun, Deputy Director of the Yunnan Provincial Department of Agriculture

Haiqing Sun, Deputy Director of the
Yunnan Provincial Department of Agriculture

 

Haiqing Sun stressed that China should develop its agricultural cooperation with Laos, with a view to “building friendships and partnerships with neighbouring countries” and “creating an amicable, secure and prosperous neighbourhood”. 

 

Guosheng Ma, Director of the Macroeconomic Department of Policy Research Office of the Yunnan Provincial Government

Guosheng Ma,
Director of the Macroeconomic Department
of Policy Research Office
of the Yunnan Provincial Government

 

Professor Baojun Yang, from the Southeast Asia Research Center of Peking University; Professor Zhi Liu, Head of School of International Relations at Yunnan University; and Tao Duan, Deputy Director of Academy of Commerce of Yunnan; briefed attendees about the current China-Laos relations and China's opium crop substitution programme. Professor Zhi Liu advocated people-oriented sustainable development and suggested that in order to accelerate the agreement between China and Laos on development issues, the opium crop substitution policy should gradually move to substitution of industry or economy. 

 

Professor Yaqiao Zhao, Head of College of Economics and Management of Yunnan Agricultural University

Professor Yaqiao Zhao, Head of College of
Economics and Management of
Yunnan Agricultural University

 

Professor Yaqiao Zhao shared his observations and research findings regarding Chinese agricultural investment in Laos. Generally, he sees the agricultural collaboration between China and Laos as satisfactory, and that although there are problems, he sees that most of them have arisen due to misunderstandings. He therefore suggests that governments should establish regulatory mechanisms for investment companies, encourage research and advocacy in the area, and facilitate good communication among various stakeholders.

Oxfam Hong Kong’s consultant Heike Baumüller joined the seminar through a video call and introduced the book Agribusiness Investments in Lao PDR: Opportunities and Challenges for Poverty Reduction , which received positive response from seminar participants - they were particularly interested in the comparison between investment behaviours of China and of other countries in Laos, as well as Laos’s perception of foreign investment of different countries.

 

Ratsamy Souvannamethy, Oxfam’s Associate Country Director for Laos

Ratsamy Souvannamethy,
Oxfam’s Associate Country Director for Laos

 

Ratsamy Souvannamethy quoted a media report in Laos, pointing out that while the country generally welcomes foreign agricultural investment, it also remains concerned with related issues such as the environmental impact of agro-chemicals. He encouraged foreign investors to abide by international laws and guidelines regarding agricultural investment, or laws and guidelines of their own countries; he also urged investors to learn from other investors who practise corporate social responsibility.

Other representatives attending from NGOs included Yusong Wu, Director of the Kunming Programme Office at World Wide Fund for Nature, who discussed the links between Chinese outward foreign direct investment and global biodiversity, and Yufang Su, Programme Officer of the World Agroforestry Centre, who discussed smallholder farmers’ non-timber forest products’ organic certifications. Their presentations provided new insights and new perspectives to scholars and business people.

Yanbing, Village Head of Manxi Village of Daluo Town in Menghai County, Xishuangbanna; Kanshao Yan, Village Party Branch Secretary; and Xinhua Yun, Executive Director of Nanchang Shengda Investment Co., Ltd, discussed their experiences in agricultural investment in Myanmar and Laos. They noted that most of the political, social and other risks foreign investors face can be mitigated through communication with local society, by adhering to laws, and by sharing benefits equitably - this can lead to win-win situation.

All in all, participants reported that the seminar had enhanced their understanding of the investment climate in Laos, the situation and development of opium crop substitution, policies supporting outward foreign direct investment, opportunities and challenges for entrepreneurs, as well as corporate social responsibility. Dialogue was constructive and suggestions plentiful.

「中國-老撾農業投資研討會」召開 - 活動 - 中國與發展中國家 - 倡議工作 - 扶貧工作 - 樂施會
跳往主要內容
開始主要內容

2012年8月18-19日,樂施會與雲南農業大學經濟管理學院聯合召開「中國——老撾農業投資研討會」,研討會旨在搭建中國對老撾農業投資的交流平臺,讓政府部門代表、專家學者、企業和非政府組織代表,共同探討農業企業在老撾投資時如何履行社會責任。

研討會上,樂施會正式發佈《外國農業投資對老撾反貧困的機遇與挑戰》一書。該書由樂施會委託Heike Baumüller女士與Kate Lazarus女士撰寫,並由雲南農業大學經濟管理學院院長趙鴨橋教授領導的小組編譯出版。該報告通過案例研究,匯總了包括中國、越南和泰國等國在老撾農業投資的現狀、趨勢、驅動因素以及所面臨的機遇與挑戰。

Chinese Agricultural Foreign-Investment in Laos Seminar was jointly held in Kunming by the College of Economics and Management of Yunnan Agricultural University and Oxfam Hong Kong on 18-19 August 2013.

 

 

Haiqing Sun, Deputy Director of the Yunnan Provincial Department of Agriculture

(雲南省農業廳孫海清副廳長)

 

雲南省農業廳副廳長孫海清指出,我國應該以「與鄰為善,與鄰為伴」、「睦鄰、安鄰、富鄰」的原則,穩定發展中老農業合作。雲南省政府政策研究室宏觀經濟處處長馬國勝在介紹雲南省橋頭堡戰略時,指出對外農業投資的潛力越來越大,而且基於老撾的地理位置與投資環境,中國對老撾農業投資的規模也會日益增長。

 

Guosheng Ma, Director of the Macroeconomic Department of Policy Research Office of the Yunnan Provincial Government

(雲南省政府政策研究室宏觀經濟處馬國勝處長)

 

北京大學國際關係學院東南亞研究中心楊保筠教授、雲南大學國際關係研究院院長劉稚教授以及雲南省商務研究院副院長段濤分別從宏觀的角度,介紹了中老關係與罌粟替代種植發展的情況,並提出了相關建議。劉稚教授更提倡「以人為本、可持續發展」的思路,她建議加快從替代種植到「替代產業」、「替代經濟」的轉型,結合罌粟替代種植的技術與滇老農業合作的基礎,推動中老兩國簽訂替代發展合作的協議。

 

Professor Yaqiao Zhao, Head of College of Economics and Management of Yunnan Agricultural University

(雲南農業大學經濟與管理學院院長趙鴨橋教授)

 

雲南農業大學經濟與管理學院院長趙鴨橋教授分享了他對中國在老撾農業投資的一些發現與觀察。他認為中老農業合作的整體情況是好的,存在的問題很多都是誤解引起的,所以他建議各國政府對投資企業建立規範機制,加強對該領域的研究與宣導,促進不同利益主體的溝通與交流。

樂施會顧問Heike Baumüller女士與會議現場連線,介紹了樂施會《外國農業投資對老撾反貧困的機遇與挑戰》一書的主要內容,引起了與會者的積極回應,特別是關於中國與其他國家在老撾農業投資行為的比較,老撾對中國與其他外國投資者的評價。

樂施會老撾副項目總監Ratsamy Souvannamethy先生,引用老撾媒體報導,指出老撾對外國農業投資的正面評價,但同時提到一些憂慮,包括農藥的使用對生態環境的威脅等。他建議外國投資者必須參考投資地和國際上有關對農業投資上的法律法規和準則,在實踐中積極吸納履行企業社會責任好的做法和經驗。

與會的非政府組織代表還有世界自然基金會昆明項目辦主任吳於松女士和世界混農林中心項目官員蘇宇芳女士。她們分別介紹中國海外投資與全球生物多樣性的關係,及分享小農戶組織的非木材林產品有機認證,給在場的專家學者與企業代表帶來新視角和啟發。

除了政府官員、專家學者和非政府組織代表,會議也邀請了西雙版納州猛海縣打洛鎮曼夕村村小組長岩丙、村支書岩坎哨和雲南昌勝達投資有限公司執行董事尹新華,分享他們分別在緬甸和老撾投資種植的經驗。他們的經驗總結出:在面臨境外投資面臨著巨大的政治、社會及其他一系列的風險時,通過與當地社會各階層的溝通,遵守法律、平等分享利益,就能化解矛盾,促進雙贏。企業家的經驗正是與投資地社區和