Skip to main content
Start main content

Initial analysis of the Copenhagen climate talks

Copenhagen was a unique opportunity to turn the world’s course away from climate disaster, towards a safe future for all of us on this small planet. Massive global public mobilization demanded it. But world leaders negotiated for their national interests, instead of safeguarding our shared destiny.

In the closing hours of negotiations, world leaders drew up the Copenhagen Accord. It grabbed headlines, but offered no lifelines and so may end up on the sidelines. Negotiations must get straight back on track. All countries need to get back round the table and deliver what science – and people worldwide – are demanding: a fair, ambitious and binding deal in 2010.

What's in the Copenhagen Accord?

The Copenhagen Accord – a three-page political declaration - reveals where there is currently some space for international agreement, and where the huge gaps in global vision remain.

Climate threat: high
Hollow commitment to halt global warming.
 The Accord makes a weak commitment to keep the rise in average temperature below 2oC – recognizing the scientific consensus around the threshold for catastrophic and irreversible climate change – but sets no targets for emissions cuts by 2020 or 2050. It simply calls for global emissions to peak ‘as soon as possible’ – an empty strategy in the face of emergency. The Accord calls for a review in 2015, when it should consider strengthening the global temperature ceiling to 1.5oC – but by then it would be too late to achieve.

Rich-country emission cuts dangerously off course. In the face of this gaping hole, the Accord’s approach to securing stronger cuts from developed countries by 2020 is pathetic. With no global targets as a guide, and no criteria for calculating national fair shares, it calls for each country to submit its pledged cuts to an international list by the end of January 2010, but for information purposes only – nothing binding.

Measure, report and verify. Independent checks to ensure that countries are meeting their responsibilities to cut emissions are essential – and agreeing on this was a big step made in Bali. The Copenhagen Accord strengthened the will to do so. It calls for processes to measure, report and verify rich-country emissions cuts and finance.

Where is the finance?
Fast-start finance: yes – but don’t fast-finish.
 The Accord commits developed countries to providing new and additional resources approaching $30bn for the period 2010–2012. This is welcome and will help meet the backlog of urgent adaptation demands and mitigation opportunities. But based on pledges made so far, the total falls short by $2bn per year; most of Japan’s funding is in the form of loans, much of the EU money has simply been re-pledged, and little has been committed over and above the 0.7 per cent aid target promised since 1972. Further, there is no commitment to fund needs from 2014 to 2019.

Long-term adaptation funds proposed – but no clear sources. The call to mobilize $100bn for adaptation and mitigation by 2020 is an important step; it is only half of the minimum needed, and creates no specific obligations for countries, but it finally puts an initial number on the table. Yet there is no mention of how to raise fair shares, how funds will be divided between adaptation and mitigation, or how much will be predictable and public finance, rather than private finance through carbon markets.

The risk of aid-raiding and empty promises. The Accord’s commitment that rich-country financing be subject to measurement, reporting and verification is important because it would help end the financial ‘hide-and-seek’ of current pledges. At the same time, the Accord leaves certain funding loopholes open. It makes no clear statement that climate finance will be raised separately and additionally to rich-countries’ existing aid commitments of 0.7 per cent of national income. Without that, funds risk being raised by diverting future spending away from essential services in poor countries – taking money to build flood defences out of budgets to build schools and hospitals.

New financial mechanism – but how will it be governed? The Accord establishes the Copenhagen Green Climate Fund – intended as one of the financial mechanisms under the UN Convention, for financing mitigation, reducing emissions from deforestation, adaptation, capacity-building, and technology development and transfer. It is unclear how this mechanism is intended to relate to the mechanisms under negotiation in the formal tracks, but its governance must help deliver climate finance in a more transparent and democratic way – a commitment not established in the text.

Little protection for the poorest
No vision for adaptation.
 The Accord does little beyond stating that adaptation is a challenge, that it will need finance, and that the most vulnerable developing countries should be prioritized in accessing this finance. All true. But it makes no proposals about the level of funding needed for adaptation finance, and promises no certain source of funds. It makes no mention of the need to cover unavoidable loss and damage – such as helping communities rebuild their homes and livelihoods after hurricanes and floods, or cope with slow-onset damage such as losing freshwater supplies as glaciers melt.

 

What should be the key elements of a fair, ambitious and binding deal?

Copenhagen was the place to agree a fair, ambitious and binding global deal to tackle climate change – the ‘landing zone’ of which has been clear for more than a year. It calls for action to:

1. Prevent dangerous climate change

  • Keep global warming far below 2 degree Celsius by ensuring that global emissions peak by 2015 and greenhouse-gas concentrations ultimately fall to 350 ppm (parts per million);
  • Developed countries take on emission-reduction targets of at least 40 per cent below 1990 levels by 2020, with individual country targets based on their respective responsibility (for historic emissions) and economic capability;
  • Developed countries deliver most of these cuts through domestic action – not offsets overseas – and loopholes in emissions accounting are closed;
  • Developing countries limit their emissions growth with finance and technology support from developed countries, starting in 2010 and rising to at least $100bn each year from 2013.

 

2. Protect poor people from unavoidable climate impacts

  • Deliver substantial fast-start adaptation financing from 2010 to 2012. Oxfam has estimated that urgent adaptation needs are at least $50bn every year;
  • Provide for a progressive scaling-up of adaptation financing from at least $50bn per year in 2013, rising to $100bn or more by 2020, in line with scientific and economic assessments;
  • Ensure that all financing for adaptation and mitigation is additional to existing commitments by rich countries to deliver 0.7 per cent of their national income as development aid;
  • Ensure that adaptation finance is channelled to the most vulnerable communities, and through gender-sensitive programmes;
  • Finance an international climate insurance pool, and take steps to help people recover from damage and losses due to unavoidable climate impacts.

 

3. Require governments to commit to a historic climate shift

  • Produce a legally binding agreement between all countries that builds on existing principles and rules, including the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) and the Kyoto Protocol;
  • Establish a new global climate finance mechanism – one that is governed on the basis of equitable representation of all countries, and effective in delivering finance for adaptation and mitigation in developing countries;
  • Establish stronger compliance and enforcement mechanisms for counting and cutting emissions, and for delivering finance.

The climate of negotiations

The 2007 Bali Action Plan set out a roadmap for two years of negotiations, working on two tracks, with two parallel texts:

  • to agree new, legally binding obligations for all rich countries (except the USA) to cut their emissions, beyond their existing commitments to cuts by 2012 – under the Kyoto Protocol track; and
  • to bring all other countries into a new, legally binding agreement which includes: comparable and binding emissions cuts for the USA;
  • limiting emissions in developing countries, with financial and technology support to do so;
  • and funding for developing countries to adapt to climate-change impacts – all under the Long-term Cooperative Action (LCA) track.


In those two years of talks, little was resolved along the road, and rich countries – critically – failed to earn trust because they showed no resolve to meet their historic responsibility in cutting emissions.


The road to Copenhagen
Moves by the USA in 2009 to legislate a cap on national emissions were welcomed as a first step towards joining an international agreement. But the country’s low level of ambition (equivalent to 4 per cent cuts below 1990 levels by 2020) was seen as deeply inadequate by developing countries and other rich countries alike. Further, the USA’s unwillingness to join the Kyoto Protocol created the need for a second binding treaty, so talk of merging the two tracks began. This alarmed developing countries, many of whom feared that rich countries would collectively try to use the move to water down their obligations.

In the run-up to the talks, some countries and regions did step forward with clear offers of progress. The European Union (EU) was first, in 2008, to pledge new emissions cuts (unilaterally 20 per cent below 1990 levels by 2020, rising to 30 per cent in the case of a strong global deal). China, India, Mexico, South Korea and others also made significant unilateral offers to tackle their emissions, and South Africa pledged cuts provided they received financial support to achieve these.

One month before negotiations in Copenhagen began, however, all the big decisions – on adequate emissions cuts by rich countries, and on finance for adaptation and mitigation – were still on the table. The Danish Prime Minister, echoed by ministers from other rich countries, claimed that it would not be possible to agree a legally binding deal in time, and proposed a single outcome, rather than the two tracks agreed in Bali – again, raising alarm.


Too much text, too little trust
Rumours of an alternative negotiation text by the Danish presidency provoked anger when an early draft was leaked in the opening days of the Copenhagen talks. This draft had been presented to an exclusive group of countries a week earlier; it leaned towards rich-country interests, and aimed to replace the two-track approach with a single, new agreement.

This triggered an atmosphere of mistrust that never waned. To ensure that a two-track approach remained on the table, China, India, Brazil and South Africa (BASIC) presented their own alternative to the Danish text, followed by additional proposals from the African Group, and from the Alliance of Small Island States (AOSIS). The formal process finally focused back on official texts, but critical time and trust had already been lost.

Pushing for progress
Suspicions may have filled the conference centre, but on the streets outside – and around the world – there was massive public demand for strong action in a global day of action. In Copenhagen, 100,000 people marched, and more than 3,000 events were held in almost 140 countries. Worldwide, 14 million people signed the tck tck tck petition calling for a deal. Civil society organisations have been deeply involved in the climate talks for years, but their ability to take part was dramatically curtailed in the second week. The UN severely restricted access: from 15,000 observers at any one time, down to just 300 for the final days of the talks.

Some prominent and progressive companies – recognizing the threat of climate change to their core business – have also mobilized to call for decisive action. Coalitions such as Business for Innovative Climate & Energy Policy (BICEP) in the USA – founded by Nike, Starbucks, Levi Strauss, Sun Microsystems, and Timberland – call for national legislation based on the science. But their voices and influence are still heavily outweighed by decades of high-level lobbying by entrenched corporate interests delaying the shift away from fossil fuels. On the opening day of negotiations, for example, Business Europe – representing the EU’s main business confederations – openly called on the EU not to raise its emissions cuts unilaterally from 20 to 30 per cent.

Descending into Copen-chaos
When Heads of State joined the talks, they ended up negotiating from the podium, rehearsing their national positions instead of proposing breakthroughs. Many people had expected rich countries to bring strong new offers (as they had suggested they would), but they put forward only tentative offers of finance. The USA joined earlier calls by the UK and Ethiopia to mobilize $100bn of long-term finance – but late in the day, and with no sources clearly identified.

In the final, chaotic hours of negotiations, the USA, China, India, Brazil and South Africa – without the EU – drew up a text that was then discussed by 25 Heads of State, and became the Copenhagen Accord. It was tabled before all countries late on in the last night, giving them just one hour to read it and sign it. The EU reluctantly agreed, but many developing countries refused, and so the conference ‘noted’ rather than ‘adopted’ the Accord - turning it into a petition open for national signups. All countries agreed to keep negotiating for another year based on the two official texts produced through the formal UN process.

Who killed the COP?
Rich countries have the responsibility to lead in cutting global emissions – that is clear. But almost none of them – including Australia, Canada, the EU, Japan, New Zealand and the USA – came to Copenhagen with enough on the table or in their back pockets to seal a meaningful deal. The EU had more in reserve than most, but held it back as a final offer, which it was never called on to make. The USA came into the talks with the low offer expected; the surprise was that it did not raise its offer with tangible commitments during the talks. This allowed Australia, Canada, Japan and New Zealand to hide behind the USA. Worse, these countries actively blocked a range of progressive proposals for moving forward. There was no collective vision and will to lead; and the cost falls hardest on small and poor developing countries that hold none of the blame but face the worst consequences.

Change the politics, not the climate

Politics-as-usual negotiations are failing to solve the climate crisis. For the crucial year ahead, the UNFCCC has proposed just one intersessional, in May or June, and then final talks (known as COP16/CMP6) in Mexico, in November or December. Such thin engagement will not turn the talks around. Governments are still focused on securing their national interests instead of securing our shared destiny. 2010 may be the last year for these climate negotiations to prove they are an effective process for stopping climate change.

Heads of State: demonstrate climate leadership. The last two years of competitive negotiations must now be turned into collaborative engagement for a deal in 2010. That new mindset must be driven by Heads of State, especially those from rich countries, and must become the overriding mandate for negotiations.

Ministers: prepare for ‘sleeping-bag’ ministerials. A set of intense ministerial meetings for both tracks of negotiations – held in March, June and September – must propel political decisions. The meetings must be hosted by the UNFCCC, with all country groupings represented, and ensuring full reporting back. Each ministerial should end only when its mandated milestone has been reached: to halve the number of brackets in the text, and halve the size of the numeric ranges set out in those brackets. By COP16/CMP6, this will produce tight ranges on emissions cuts and financing that can realistically lead to agreement.

Climate scientists: put facts back at the heart of negotiations. Climate science is evolving rapidly, but negotiations continue on the basis of old projections – and fudge the science in their promises. The IPCC and leading climate scientists urgently need to provide updated estimates on emissions trajectories and temperature increases, starting with 1.5oC, so that negotiators – and the world – know what they are agreeing to. Research into the impacts of climate change on people must be deepened and communicated, so that governments understand the true human and financial costs of their inaction.

Negotiators: draw up text that can drive decisions. Climate talks (unlike trade talks in Geneva) do not have a hometown, and sporadic intersessionals don’t allow for steady progress. Instead, semipermanent negotiations – ‘delegate dormitories’ – should be set up in one city (Bonn, New York, or Geneva?) to finish these talks in time. Developing countries must put their best negotiators into these talks – they have shown they make a difference – and the Least Developed Countries will need financial support to be part of this standing community, as well as access to a pool of UNFCCC experts offering additional technical support.

Public support: build the case and widen the base. The last two years have seen an unprecedented and broad movement emerge across the globe for climate justice. But there is still enormous potential to harness.

  • Business: progressive companies in all countries must draw the next swathe of corporates into alliances to build an international green new deal, and must be more proactive in calling on governments to act.
  • Civil society: keep highlighting the devastating poverty and environmental effects of climate change, and make climate justice the most electorally dangerous issue for politicians to ignore. 12
  • Public voices: keep demonstrating the growing international public demand for urgent action.

 

This generation cannot leave a legacy of climate shame. Governments cannot negotiate with the atmosphere – only with each other. They must get back round the table and work throughout 2010 to deliver the fair, ambitious and binding agreement that the world so urgently needs.

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容

哥本哈根氣候談判初步分析

哥本哈根原本是良機,避免全球走上氣候災難的道路,讓我們這個地球的所有人可以邁向安全的未來。世界各地的市民都曾動員及作出這樣的要求,不過各國領袖談判時只顧及本國利益,而不是保障我們共同的前景。

會談最後以「哥本哈根協議」記錄作案後結束。該協議成為傳媒焦點,但其內容跟理想的方案還有一大段距離。

談判必須重回正軌,所有國家需要返回談判桌,並於2010年達成一份科學分析和全球人民所要求的──一項公平、進取而具約束力的協議。

「哥本哈根協議」內有甚麼?

「哥本哈根協議」是一份三頁的政治宣言,內容反映了目前仍有一些空間作國際協議,但在全球願景中大家依然有很大的差距。

1. 氣候威脅依然高

對阻止全球暖化只作空洞承諾。協議認同科學界的共識,平均氣溫再上升兩攝氏度將導致災難性和不可逆轉的氣候變化,因此要將氣溫上升幅度維持在這門檻以下,不過這承諾甚為虛弱,並沒有設定到2020年或2050年的減排目標。協議只是呼籲,全球排放量要「盡快」到達最高峰,然後開始回落。面對當前危機,這只是空洞的策略。協議呼籲各國到2015年檢討是否應該將氣溫上升幅度減至1.5攝氏度,但到時可能已經太遲。

富裕國家的減排計劃嚴重脫軌。面對這個重大的問題,協議只是提出到2020年發達國家要作更大幅度的減排,這個取向簡直可笑。協議沒有全球目標作指引,也沒有準則去計算各國應負責的比率,只要求每個國家在2010年1月底提交承諾的減排目標,不過這張國際減排清單,只是一紙資訊,並沒有約束力。

計算、匯報及核實。對於減排,必須有獨立的審查制度,以確保各國履行自己的責任──在峇里會議上能就此達成協議是重大的成就。「哥本哈根協議」加強了這方面的意志,要求制訂計算、匯報及核實各富裕國家減排量及撥款的程序。

2. 撥款在哪裡?

有快速起動適應撥款──但請勿快速終結。協議承諾發達國家會在2010至2012年間,提供共300億美元的新增資源。這項撥款值得支持,將有助解決早已積壓的緊急適應需要及緩減機會。不過以直至目前已作的承諾計算,每年的總額比所需的金額仍少20億美元:日本的撥款大部分以貸款形式作出;歐盟的撥款很多只是重新作承諾的撥款,甚少超越自1972年承諾的援助目標──全國收入的0.7%。此外,協議也沒有對2014至2019年間的撥款作任何安排。

建議設立長期適應基金,但沒有明確來源。協議呼籲到2020年籌募1,000億美元,作適應及緩減,這是重要的一步。不過,這只是所需最低金額的一半,並且沒有要求各個國家承擔特定的責任,但協議至少提出了一個基本的金額。然而,協議並沒有提及如何籌募各國應該承擔的比率、款項應如何在適應及緩減之間作分配,又或款項中有多少為可以預期的定期撥款,以及有多少來自公共開支,而非透過碳市場取得的私營市場款項。

「劫取」援助和空頭承諾的風險。協議中有關富裕國家須遵從計算、匯報及核實等原則作撥款的承諾相當重要,因為這有助結束目前各項撥款承諾間互相逃避推卸的情況。同時,協議仍對一些撥款方面的漏洞置諸不理,沒有明確表明氣候融資會是目前援助承諾(國家收入的0.7%)以外的獨立撥款。沒有這項保證,籌募到的款項其實可能是轉移自未來用於貧窮國家基礎服務的開支,也就是將用作建造學校和醫院的預算,改為興築防洪堤壩。

新的撥款機制怎樣管理?協議決定設立「哥本哈根綠色氣候基金」,旨在作為聯合國大會之下其中一個撥款機制,用於緩減、減少因伐林而造成的排放、適應;能力培訓,以及技術發展與轉移。這機制是否會與正式途徑內談判中的其他機制相關,現時還未清晰,不過其管理方式必須讓氣候融資可以更為透明和民主──這項原則在文本中未見提及。

3. 對最貧窮人的保障太少

對適應缺乏前瞻願景。關於適應問題,協議除了指出這是重大挑戰、需要資金,以及最為弱勢的發展中國家應優先獲得撥款外,著墨不多。不過協議並沒有建議適應撥款所需的金額,也沒有對資金來源作出承諾;協議亦未提及需要補償不能避免的損失──例如在風暴及氾濫後,協助社群重建家園及恢復生計,又或應付因冰川融化而逐漸出現的損失,例如食水減少。

何謂一份公平、進取而具約束力的協議?

 1. 阻止危險的氣候變化

  • 透過保證全球碳排量於2015年達到頂峰,以及溫室氣體濃度最終降至350ppm(百萬分率),將全球暖化的幅度維持於兩攝氏度以下;
  • 發達國家將減排目標定於到2020年至少按1990年水平減少40%;
  • 發達國家應透過國內的行動達致減排目標,而不是透過碳交易購買減排量;並且需要堵塞計算減排量的漏洞;
  • 發展中國家在發達國家的財政及技術支援下,限制本身的排放量增長,財政支援須由2010年開始,到2013年增至最少每年1,000億美元。

 

2. 保障貧窮人在無可迴避的氣候影響下得到支援

  • 由2010至2012年提供充足的快速起動適應撥款。樂施會估計,緊急適應資金至少每年需要500億美元;
  • 按照科學及經濟的評估,提供逐步增加的適應撥款,由2013年至少每年500億美元開始,至2020年增至1,000億或更多;
  • 確保所有適應和緩減措施的撥款,是富裕國家在已承諾、佔國民收入0.7%的發展援助以外的款項;
  • 確保最受氣候變化影響的社群可以得到適應資金,有關項目須注意性別平等的問題。
  • 成立國際氣候保險融資,並採取措施協助受無可迴避的氣候變化影響的人民,從傷害和損失中復元。

 

3. 各國政府須致力扭轉氣候變化的趨勢

  • 建基於現存的原則及規條,包括「聯合國氣候變化綱要公約」及「京都議定書」,制訂對各國均具法律約束力的條文;
  • 制訂新的全球氣候融資機制。該機制的監管要按照所有國家公平參與的原則,並能有效地為發展中國家提供適應及緩減氣候變化的撥款;
  • 為計算及減少排放,以及提供融資,制訂更強力的遵守規則及執行機制。

回顧過去兩年的氣候談判

峇里路線圖
2007年的「峇里路線圖」,為其後兩年的談判制訂了軌跡,以兩份平行的文本,按雙軌制的方向同時工作:

  • 根據「京都議定書」的談判軌跡,所有富裕國家(除了美國)協議訂立2012年後的減排目標,而該目標屬新增、具法律約束力的;以及
  • 根據「長期合作行動」的談判軌跡,讓所有其他國家參與一項新增、具法律約束力的協議,內容包括:美國訂立可與其他國家比擬及具約束力的減排目標;發展中國家在取得財政及技術支援下,限制減排;以及撥款協助發展中國家適應氣候變化的影響。

在這兩年的談判中,真正解決了的爭議甚少,重要的是,富裕國家無法贏取發展中國家的信任,因為他們並沒有顯示出肩負歷史排放責任的決心。

邁向哥本哈根
美國於2009年立法為全國的碳排放制訂上限,受到各界歡迎,視為該國邁向加入國際協議的第一步。不過美國訂下的目標毫不進取(到2020年時的水平只比1990年時低4%),發展中國家及其他富裕國家均認為極不足夠。此外,由於美國不願意簽訂「京都議定書」,需要制訂另一條具約束力的條約,於是開始提倡融合上述兩條途徑的談判,將雙軌談判變為單軌談判,這舉動無疑是旨在推倒京都議定書。這令發展中國家提高警覺,其中不少擔心富裕國家會集體試圖用這方法來減輕自己應該承擔的歷史排放責任。

在談判的籌備階段,有些國家和地區已踏前一步,提出進展的目標。首先是歐盟在2008年承諾新的減排目標(到2020年,單方面按1990年標準減排20%,若全球能達成有強大力量的協議,則目標升至30%)。中國、印度、墨西哥、南韓及其他國家也單方面宣佈會作出大幅減排,而南非則承諾,若獲得財政支援,亦會願意大幅減排。

不過,到哥本哈根談判開始前一個月,所有重大的決議,不論是富裕國家作足夠的減排,還是適應及緩減措拖的融資,都仍在談判桌上。丹麥首相當時表示,已不會有可能按原定時間制訂具法律約束力的協議,因此建議爭取單一的結果,而不是按峇里協議的兩條途徑。這個說法獲得其他富裕國家的政府認同,也自然再一次令各界擔心。

哥本哈根:太多文本,太少信任
當時有傳聞丹麥政府準備了另一份談判文本,在哥本哈根談判開始後不久,就有一個初稿版本洩漏了出來。這文本於會前一星期遞交予某些特定的國家,內容向富裕國家的利益傾斜,並且計劃以單軌制的的新協議,取代原本雙軌制的方向。

這引發了大家絕不希望出現的互不信任氣氛。為了確保兩條路徑的取向仍能保留在談判桌上,中國、印度、巴西及南非因應丹麥文本,提供了另一個建議,其後非洲集團及小島國家聯盟相繼提出自己的建議。結果正式的程序再次集中於正式的文本,不過整個過程令時間流走,亦令國與國之間的互信喪失。

爭取進展
會議中心內或許瀰漫著猜疑的氣氛,不過在會場外的街頭,以至全世界,都在「全球行動日」有大量群眾要求採取強而有力的行動。在哥本哈根,有10萬人遊行;在全球近140個國家,有超過3,000項相關活動。世界各地有140萬人簽署了「滴滴滴運動」(tck tck tck campaign)的立場書,呼籲會議要達成協議。公民社會的組織多年來一直積極參與氣候談判,但在會議的第二個星期中,他們的參與程度被逼大幅減低。聯合國嚴格地限制進場的人數:由任何時間可以有15,000名觀察員,到最後幾天減至只有300名。

一批具知名度且進取的商業機構,了解到氣候變化對其核心業務的威脅,也動員呼籲作出果斷的行動。有一些商界聯盟,例如由Nike、Starbucks、Levi Strauss、Sun Microsystems及Timberland等在美國組成的「商界推動創意氣候及能源政策組織」(Business for Innovative Climate and Energy Policy,簡稱BICEP),就要求按照科學研究的結果制訂全國法律。不過,這些機構的呼聲和影響力,比起保守企業利益數十年來拖延棄用石化燃料的高層次政治游說,仍微不足道。舉例來說,在談判開始的一日,代表歐盟各主要商會的「商業歐洲」(Business Europe) 聯盟,就公開呼籲歐盟不要單方面將自己減排目標由20%升至30%。

淪為亂局
到各國元首參與談判時,他們最終只是站在講台上覆述自己國家的立場,而不是提議作任何突破。不少人期望富裕國家會提出進取的新方案,但結果他們只提出融資的暫定方案。美國響應英國和埃塞俄比亞較早時候的呼籲,同意籌集1,000億美元作長遠撥款──不過已是當日的晚間時分,而且亦沒有提及撥款的來源。

在談判最後的混亂時刻,美國、中國、印度、巴西及南非草擬了一份文本,但卻沒有歐盟的參與。該文本經與25個國家元首討論後,成為了「哥本哈根協議」。這份文件在談判最後一日深夜交予各國,只給各國一個小時去閱讀和簽署。歐盟勉強答應,但很多發展中國家拒絕,因此會議只是「審閱」了該份協議,而非「確立」,最後大會將「哥本哈根協議」記錄在案。

誰扼殺了聯合國氣候變化會議?
很明顯,富裕國家有責任帶頭削減全球的碳排放量。不過,包括澳洲、加拿大、歐盟、日本、新西蘭及美國在內,差不多沒有一個富裕國家前往哥本哈根之時作好準備,去簽署真正有實質意義的協議。歐盟比大多數其他的富裕國家有較佳的準備,但卻保留了方案,準備作為最後的建議,結果完全沒有公開。美國帶著大眾早已預期的低標準建議來參加談判,令人驚奇的是,該國並沒有在談判中作實質承諾,提高標準。這做法讓澳洲、加拿大、日本及新西蘭可用美國作擋箭牌。更不妙的是,這些國家主動阻止了連串進取的建議推行。富裕國家沒有集體的願景和意志作領導,而要付出最沉重代價的,是貧窮的發展中小國。氣候變化並不是他們的責任,但所造成最惡劣的後果卻要他們承擔。

下一步:要轉變的是政治,不是氣候

一如過往的政治掛帥談判並不能解決氣候危機。未來一年是關鍵時刻,不過「聯合國氣候變化綱要公約」只建議於2010年5月或6月舉行一次預備會議,以及於11月或12月在墨西哥舉行最終會談(即聯合國氣候變化第16次會議/京都議定書簽約方第6次會議──COP16/CMP6)。如此單薄的會議安排不足以扭轉談判。各國政府仍著重保障自己的國家利益,而不是保障全球共同的前景。

要證明這種多邊的氣候談判是阻止氣候變化的有效途徑,2010年或許是最後一年。在2010年,各方努力包括:

國家元首:展示在氣候問題上的領導能力。過去兩年的談判充滿互相抗爭的意味,要在2010年達成協議,各國談判時就必須改為抱著互相合作的態度。這種取態要由各國元首帶動,特別是富裕國家,並且要成為談判中主導的原則。

各國部長:準備通宵達旦舉行部長級會議。在3月、6月及9月,將會有一連串關於兩條途徑談判的部長級會議舉行。這幾次會議必須能推動作出政治決定,因此應由「聯合國氣候變化綱要公約」主持,各個國家集團都有代表,並確保會議內容會全面匯報予各國。每一次部長級會議均要達到預定的目標,方可結束:將文本中的爭議數目減半,以及將括號中列出的數字差距減半。到COP16/CMP6舉行時,建議中減排量和撥款額的差距應已收窄,可以在會議中達成協議。

氣候專家:將事實放回談判的核心。氣候科學在急速演變,不過談判卻繼續建基於舊的推算,並在承諾中迴避科學數據。政府間氣候變化專門委員會和主要的氣候專家,急需提供最新有關減排進度及氣溫升幅的預測,以1.5攝氏度為起點,讓談判人員,以至全世界,知道協議內容其實有甚麼意義。有關氣候變化對人類影響的研究必須深化及讓群眾了解,到時各國政府就會明白,他們的消極態度在人類生活和財政方面要付上的真正代價。

談判人員:草擬能推動決定的文本。氣候談判並不以任何城市為基地(不像貿易談判以日內瓦為基地),加上稀疏的預備會議,令談判不能獲得穩定的進展。因此,各界應在某一城市(波恩、紐約或日內瓦)建立「半永久」的談判地點,作為「代表團的宿舍」,令談判可按時完成。發展中國家必須派出最佳的談判人員參與談判──過去的經驗顯示,較佳的人員確有幫助,而低度發展國家需要獲得財政支援參與談判,並且要得到「聯合國氣候變化綱要公約」專家組提供額外的技術支援。

公眾支持:建立理據,爭取更廣泛支持。過去兩年,在全球各地出現了史無前例而廣泛的運動,爭取氣候公義。不過,我們可以做的還有更多。

  • 企業:各國進取的商業機構必須招攬另一批企業加入聯盟,以建立新的國際綠色協議,而且也需要更為積極地促使各國政府行動。
  • 公民社會:繼續強調氣候變化對貧窮及環境問題造成的嚴重影響,並且讓氣候公義成為政治人物在選舉中不能忽視的課題。
  • 公眾發聲:繼續展示國際間要求迅速的行動。

 

各國政府不能跟空氣談判──而要跟其他國家。他們必須返回談判桌,在2010年全年工作,達成全球急切需要的公平、進取而具約束力的協議。