Oxfam’s ‘Give A Meal 2.0 – Mobile Nutrition Clinic’ Project
Skip to main content
Start main content

Oxfam's Nutrition Support Project for Low-Income Families

社區流動營養診所

Boost Children’s Immunity with Food   

Donate Now

Oxfam’s ‘Give A Meal 2.0 – Mobile Nutrition Clinic’ Project

Poverty might look like a full-time job, but one that only pays enough to afford rent for a subdivided flat, but not enough for nutritious food for one’s kids.

Poverty is complex, and manifests itself differently in different cities. Take hunger as an example. In extremely poor places, children do not eat three meals a day. In Hong Kong, children who live in poverty might not necessarily go hungry, but lack nutritious food which impacts their physical development and long-term health.

About Give A Meal 2.0 – Mobile Nutrition Clinic


COVID-19 has badly affected Hong Kong's economy, but families living in poverty are bearing the brunt of its effects. During the severe waves, many workers from low-income households either lost their jobs or were furloughed. They could only cut costs by limiting the food and clothing they buy, but this adversely affects the health and development of their children.

Over the past two years, Oxfam Hong Kong has been implementing Give A Meal – Oxfam’s Food Support Project for Low-Income Families. Within two years, 700 households with children who lived in subdivided flats, as well as elderly people who lived alone received meal kits that met their nutritional needs for six months.

Our partner People Service Centre and the Hong Kong Community Dietitian Association conducted a survey in mid-2021. According to the survey:
nutrition info

Since 2021, Oxfam has been working with the People Service Centre and the Hong Kong Community Dietitian Association to implement the Mobile Nutrition Clinic Project. The project combines research, service and education to teach parents and children from low-income households correct information about nutrition. Through it, children also learn to understand that it is not easy for Mum/Dad to make a delicious meal given the many tasks they have to tend to.

After a year, parents have learnt how to prepare healthy meals for their children and have regained confidence in taking care of their children's meals. Over 70 per cent of the children saw significant improvements in their nutritional intake, and more than half of the children saw improvements in their digestive health and picky eating habits. Oxfam will continue the project this year, hoping to reach more families that live in poverty.

one on one

We provide families with at least three one-on-one consultations with nutritionists, and they receive a personalised plan to improve their nutrition. We also collect data about the children’s health, so we can analyse how we can meet the needs of other children in the future through services and policies.

Parent Workshop

Healthy Eating Support Group for Parents: This group aims to help parents gain a better understanding of nutrition and to learn skills to guide their children to develop healthy eating habits.

Kid Workshp

Children's Healthy Eating and Self-Care Group: In addition to learning about healthy eating, children also learn empathy through games and activities, so they understand how their parents feel taking care of the family.


 

Our Aim


Through research, we learn about the problems children from low-income families face in terms of nutrition and provide actionable plans to help them develop healthy eating habits and reduce the risk of disease. 

What Project Participants Are Saying 

'my son and I have gained a better understanding of nutrition and have discovered food that is both nutritious and affordable.' 

--- Cherry, project participant


‘With the help and encouragement from the nutritionist, my son and I have gained a better understanding of nutrition and have discovered food that is both nutritious and affordable. My son's belly has not only shrunk, but our relationship has also improved.’ - Cherry, project participant

As a mother, Cherry has always put her children first and would rather spend less on her needs than let her children eat less than enough. She understands how hard it would be to make up for lost nutrition if her 10-year-old son and 6-year-old daughter did not eat well, and how it could affect all aspects of their development. However, money is tight and the cost of food accounts for half of her income. Cherry has limited options when it comes to food, especially affordable and nutritious food. As a result, her son gradually developed picky eating habits and gained weight drastically during the pandemic. Cherry said, ‘There was no use trying to persuade him. My son would just say he doesn't like the food or won't eat it.’

It was not until about six months ago when Cherry and her son joined the Mobile Nutrition Clinic Project that her son gradually adopted a balanced diet. Cherry appreciates the kindness and positivity of the nutritionist, who encouraged and helped her son eat healthily during the one-on-one consultations. ‘When my son made progress, she would praise him; if he didn't reach a goal they had set, she wouldn't scold him but would encourage him instead.’ Cherry said her son saw major improvements in his diet, and in the past six months, his belly had shrunk and he had become slimmer.

What Cherry was most happy about is that after joining the project, her children not only followed the instructions of the nutritionist, but also appreciated her efforts in asking them to eat a balanced diet. After joining the Children's Healthy Eating and Self-Care Group that is part of the project, the siblings have learnt not only learnt about nutrition, but also the hardships their mother experience taking care of the family. 

Cherry will never forget the time when she overcooked some noodles, and her son asked tactfully, ‘There's something different about the noodles today. Did you buy a different brand, Mum?’ In the past, he would have refused to eat and it would have turned into an argument. After she admitted her mistake though, her daughter rushed to reassure her, ‘No Mum, it's delicious!’ Cherry was delighted that even though the food did not taste good, her children were willing to eat it and appreciated her effort. She told us, ‘Your relationship with your children is the foundation of everything. If you have a good relationship with them, your kids will eat anything you cook; but if you don't, they will not eat a single bite.’ To her, learning more about healthy eating and strengthening her bond with her children have been the greatest gifts she’s received through the project.
 

Before joining the project, Cherry tried looking for recipes online but did not know whether or not they were nutritious. Through the project's one-on-one consultations, the nutritionist was able to tailor-make a nutritional improvement plan to suit her son's needs.

Before joining the project, Cherry tried looking for recipes online but did not know whether or not they were nutritious. Through the project's one-on-one consultations, the nutritionist was able to tailor-make a nutritional improvement plan to suit her son's needs.

Cherry and her children attended two parent-child cooking classes. Even though the children did not like the ingredients, they found the food they cooked particularly tasty. Her daughter, for example, does not usually eat carrots, but she did not pick them out of the dish and even enjoyed eating them.

Cherry and her children attended two parent-child cooking classes. Even though the children did not like the ingredients, they found the food they cooked particularly tasty. Her daughter, for example, does not usually eat carrots, but she did not pick them out of the dish and even enjoyed eating them.

Listen to a story to learn more about the challenges low-income families face.

 

‘Rethink Poverty’ Audio Stories: Commercial Radio DJ Amber Au has always been passionate about social issues. In this audio story, she helps listeners learn more about a father who is trying to help his young son – a picky eater – improve his health. What helps in the end may surprise you.

Build a better and healthier future for the next generation with Oxfam Hong Kong!

Your support will allow us to continue to work with families living in poverty to improve their health! 

Donate Now

樂施會「慳得有營 2.0 - 社區流動營養診所」計劃
跳往主要內容
開始主要內容

樂施會「慳得有營 2.0 - 社區流動營養診所」計劃

社區流動營養診所

有「營」從識食開始  減低兒童患病風險  

立即捐款

樂施會「慳得有營 2.0 - 社區流動營養診所」

「貧窮說,我有工作,但收入只足夠蝸居劏房,也難以讓孩子吃得有營養。」

貧窮問題複雜而多樣,在不同的城市,其展現的面貌也不盡相同。以「飢餓」為例,在極端貧困的地方,兒童三餐不繼,面對著能否得到温飽的日子。在香港,基層兒童未必需要捱餓,但身體營養失衡,影響身體發育及長遠健康。

關於「慳得有營 2.0 - 社區流動營養診所」計劃


新冠肺炎疫情令香港整體經濟受挫,基層家庭首當其衝。疫情嚴峻期間,貧窮住戶持續停工及失業,只可節衣縮食減輕經濟負擔,長遠影響基層學童的營養攝取及健康成長。樂施會在過去兩年推出「慳得有營餸基層」計劃,兩年內為700戶有兒童的基層劏房家庭和獨居長者,提供持續半年,並切合營養需求的食物援助。

樂施會將進一步聚焦關注基層兒童的營養狀況,與家長同行,協助他們長遠掌握營養知識。我們發現基層家長的營養知識普遍薄弱,令他們的小孩較易有偏食習慣。體重失衡,營養不足,他們未必需要捱餓,身體卻並不健康。

據我們合作夥伴民社服務中心和香港社區營養師協會,在2021年中的調查發現:
nutrition info

2021年開始,樂施會支持民社服務中心,聯同香港社區營養師協會,推行「社區流動營養診所」計劃,結合研究、服務及教育,向基層家長和小朋友教授正確的營養知識,同時教育小朋友明白媽媽/爸爸在繁重的家務中,要完成一餐美味的飯餸,並非容易。

一年過去,家長都學懂如何為子女準備健康飲食、亦對照顧子女膳食重拾信心。超過七成小朋友的營養攝取量有明顯改善,過半小朋友減少便秘和偏食。樂施會今年延續計劃,希望幫助到更多基層家庭。

one on one

我們為參加計劃的基層家庭,提供至少三次的一對一營養師諮詢,提供個人化的營養改善策略,同時收集數據建立兒童營養數據庫,分析未來服務需要及政策改善方向。

Parent Workshop

家長健康飲食支援小組:協助家長掌握營養知識,提升管理兒童健康飲食的意識和技巧。

Kid Workshp

兒童健康飲食自我管理小組:除了傳授營養知識,亦透過不同遊戲/活動讓孩子明白父母照顧家庭的感受,建立同理心。

 

 

計劃目的


透過專業研究,了解基層兒童在食物營養面對的問題並提供改善方案,建立健康的飲食習慣,減低患病風險。 

參加者分享

「有了營養師的幫忙和鼓勵,我和兒子都對營養有多一份認識,找到既慳錢又有營養的食物,兒子的肚腩縮小了,更改善了親子關係。」

——「社區流動營養診所」參加者Cherry


作為媽媽,Cherry總是將子女放在第一位,寧願自己「節衣」,都不讓孩子「縮食」。她深知10歲的長子和6歲的幼女正處發育期,若缺乏營養,就會影響身體各方面的發展,往後很難追回。惟經濟拮据,食物費用已佔收入一半, Cherry可選擇的食材種類也不多,亦不懂得選擇既經濟、又有營養的食物配搭。兒子因而漸漸產生偏食問題,在疫情期間更突然發胖,Cherry無奈道:「不斷勸也沒用,兒子只會說自己不喜歡吃、不肯食。」

 

直到約半年前,母子倆參加「社區流動營養診所」計劃,兒子才慢慢養成均衡飲食的習慣。Cherry讚賞營養師親切和正面,在一對一諮詢中用循循善誘的方式,鼓勵兒子要健康飲食:「當阿仔有進步,她會說:你這次做得很好呢!當阿仔未達標,她都不斥責:我們再努力吧!」Cherry稱兒子非常受教,飲食漸漸均衡,半年過去,他的肚腩縮小了,整個人也修長了。

最令Cherry欣慰的,是子女在參與計劃後,不單只聽營養師的話,更接受媽媽要求他們均衡飲食的一番苦心。兄妹們參加了計劃中的兒童健康飲食自我管理小組,學習營養知識之餘,更懂得站在媽媽的角度,明白她照顧家庭的艱辛,小朋友的成長反映在他們為小組改的名字——「媽媽煮的東西不好吃,但有營養」。

Cherry難忘有一次把麵條煮糊了,兒子竟婉轉地問:「今天的麵好像有點不同,媽媽你換了牌子嗎?」——若果是從前,兒子肯定不肯食,再變成一場親子衝突。當她承認烹調失手後,女兒急忙安慰說:「不是不是,媽媽,很好吃呢!」即使食物的味道差了,孩子都願意放進口裡,更懂得欣賞媽媽,實在令Cherry喜出望外。她感嘆:「親子關係是所有事的基礎,親子關係好,煮甚麼孩子都會吃,親子關係不好,孩子一口都不想碰。」豐富營養知識、拉近親子關係,相信是計劃帶給她的最大禮物。
 

在參加計劃前,Cherry也會嘗試上網找食譜,但不知道營養比例是怎樣。在計劃的一對一諮詢中,營養師則能按兒子的身體狀況,度身訂造營養改善方案。

在參加計劃前,Cherry也會嘗試上網找食譜,但不知道營養比例是怎樣。在計劃的一對一諮詢中,營養師則能按兒子的身體狀況,度身訂造營養改善方案。

Cherry和子女參加了兩次親子烹飪班,即使小朋友本來不愛吃這些食物,他們也覺得自己煮的東西特別好吃,例如阿妹平時一點都不會吃紅蘿蔔,但她沒有特別挑出來,還吃得很高興。

Cherry和子女參加了兩次親子烹飪班,即使小朋友本來不愛吃這些食物,他們也覺得自己煮的東西特別好吃,例如阿妹平時一點都不會吃紅蘿蔔,但她沒有特別挑出來,還吃得很高興。

 

聽故事,對基層家庭的狀況有多一份認識:

 

「貧窮說」聲音故事 -- 一直關心社會的叱咤903 DJ 急急子,以聲音帶領我們到訪一個基層家庭,聽聽爸爸、兒子,以及偏食的故事。到底,一個簡單的蕃茄,如何改變小朋友的健康呢?

與樂施會同心同行,為下一代共建美好健康的未來!

你的支持讓我們繼續努力,適切為基層家庭帶來援助、授予營養知識!

立即捐款