Skip to main content
Start main content
Global inequality

Women make up two-thirds of the paid ‘care workforce’. (Photo: Katie G. Nelson/Oxfam)

Together, we can transform more lives!

Give once Donate monthly

World’s 22 richest men have more wealth than all the women in Africa 

The world’s 2,153 billionaires have more wealth than the 4.6 billion people who make up 60 per cent of the planet’s population, reveals a new report from Oxfam today ahead of the World Economic Forum (WEF) in Davos, Switzerland.

Inequality puts heavy burden on poor women and girls
Global inequality is shockingly entrenched and vast, and the number of billionaires has doubled in the last decade. Oxfam’s report, ‘Time to Care’, shows how our sexist economies are fuelling the inequality crisis—enabling a wealthy elite to accumulate vast fortunes at the expense of ordinary people, particularly poor women and girls:  

  • The 22 richest men in the world have more wealth than all the women in Africa.
  • Women and girls put in 12.5 billion hours of unpaid care work each and every day—a contribution to the global economy of at least US$10.8 trillion a year, more than three times the size of the global tech industry.
  • Getting the richest one per cent to pay just 0.5 per cent extra tax on their wealth over the next 10 years would equal the investment needed to create 117 million jobs in sectors such as elderly and childcare, education and health. This could help lift the responsibility of care from women and tackle poverty and inequality. 

info graphics

 

‘Women and girls are among those who benefit least from today’s economic system. They spend billions of hours cooking, cleaning and caring for children and the elderly. Unpaid care work is the ‘hidden engine’ that keeps the wheels of our economies, businesses and societies moving. It is driven by women who often have little time to get an education, earn a decent living or have a say in how our societies are run, and who are therefore trapped at the bottom of the economy,’ Amitabh Behar, the Chief Executive Officer of Oxfam India who is in Davos to represent the Oxfam confederation this year, said. 
 
Climate change and aging society: A looming crisis for carers
The pressure on carers, both unpaid and paid, is set to grow in the coming decade as the global population grows and ages. An estimated 2.3 billion people will be in need of care by 2030—an increase of 200 million since 2015. Climate change could worsen the looming global care crisis—by 2025, up to 2.4 billion people will live in areas without enough water, and women and girls will have to walk even longer distances to fetch it.

Women do more than three-quarters of all unpaid care work. They often have to work reduced hours or drop out of the workforce because of their care workload. Across the globe, 42 per cent of women of working age cannot get jobs because they are responsible for all the caregiving, compared to just six per cent of men.

Women also make up two-thirds of the paid ‘care workforce’. Jobs such as nursery workers, domestic workers, and care assistants are often poorly paid, provide scant benefits, impose irregular hours, and can take a physical and emotional toll.

Improve public services and infrastructure to protect carers
At the same time, governments are underfunding vital public services and infrastructure that could help reduce women and girls’ workload. For example, providing access to an improved water source could save women in parts of Zimbabwe up to four hours of work a day, or two months a year. 
 
‘Governments created the inequality crisis—they must act now to end it. They must ensure corporations and wealthy individuals pay their fair share of tax and increase investment in public services and infrastructure. They must formulate policies to tackle the huge amount of care work done by women and girls, and ensure that people who do some of the most important jobs in our society are paid a living wage. Governments must prioritise care as being as important as all other sectors in order to build more human economies that work for everyone, not just a fortunate few.’ said Behar. 

*The report, executive summary, methodology document explained how Oxfam calculated the figures.

Oxfam’s calculations are based on the most up-to-date and comprehensive data sources available. Figures on the share of wealth come from the Credit Suisse Research Institute’s Global Wealth Databook 2019. Figures on the very richest in society come from Forbes’ 2019 Billionaires List.

Who Cares: Creating a Fairer World for All 

photo

‘With my Husband's help, Our relationship as a family became better. We’re happier. I am now closer to my children.’

--ROWENA ABEO,
DAY CARE WORKER
SALCEDO TOWN, EASTERN SAMAR, PHILIPPINES
 (Photo: Jed Regala/Oxfam)

 
My name is Rowena and I am a day care worker from Salcedo Town in the Philippines. In the past in my community, women used to just work in the house–cooking, cleaning and taking care of children. They also fetched water … With all the work that was assigned to women … [t]here would always be a gap between women and men–with the amount of money they earned, with the education they got or with the time they could spend on things outside the house. 

I’ve been a day care worker in a school for ten years. And I’m also a housewife. Being a housewife takes so much time … The heaviest housework is fetching water. It takes us three to four hours to go and get water because our water source is far. We have to go to the river and lift our own water cans.

In the past, my husband didn’t help in the household at all. It was a lot of work that I had to do on top of what I did in the school, but my husband and I didn’t question it. That changed when we started to attend trainings and seminars and learnt about unpaid care work. Now he always helps around the house. We also have water tanks now through the help of Oxfam and SIKAT. We finally have taps and a hose, so we don’t have to carry water cans and pails anymore. 

There are many communities where women are still struggling a lot. I am happy that now there is equality here between women and men. Women are more empowered. Someday I hope this will happen not just here in Salcedo, but hopefully in the whole Philippines.

Women’s labour force participation rate only accounts for 20.7 per cent of that of poor households, which is far less compared to 35.5 per cent among men. (Photo: Ko Chung Ming/Next Plus)

Women’s labour force participation rate only accounts for 20.7 per cent of that of poor households, which is far less compared to 35.5 per cent among men. (Photo: Ko Chung Ming/Next Plus)

Alarming inequality in Hong Kong

Inequality in Hong Kong is a spiralling crisis. 

  • Hong Kong’s Gini coefficient in 2016 reached 0.539 – the highest in 45 years.
  • According to the data Forbes published in 2019, the 50 richest people in Hong Kong’s assets amounted to HK$2.23 trillion, an 18 per cent increase from August 2016 (HK$1.89 trillion).
     

Further, many women are still trapped in poverty due to their family responsibilities. 

  • According to the Census and Statistics Department the labour force participation rate among poor women only accounts for 20.7 per cent of that of poor households compared to the 35.5 per cent among men.
  • This is 30.1 percentage points lower than the 50.8 per cent rate among women from the average household.
  • The female labour force participation rate further drops to 10.8 per cent if there are children aged 15 or below and seniors aged 65 or above in poor households. This indicates that women in poor households cannot find employment because they have to take care of their families.

The Hong Kong government should invest more in public services and pass laws to protect casual workers

Oftentimes, women from poor households can only work part-time jobs. This limits their career choices, and a lot of them end up taking up casual work that only pays meagre wages and offers little to no protection. Despite this, the Hong Kong government has still failed to provide them with adequate labour protection. 

According to the Employment Ordinance, being employed under a continuous contract refers to an employee who has been employed continuously by the same employer for four weeks or more, with at least 18 working hours per week. An employee must be employed under a continuous contract and fulfil various requirements as stipulated in the Ordinance to be eligible for employee benefits other than the basic protections such as rest days, statutory holidays, annual leaves, paid maternity leaves, sickness allowance, severance payment and long service payment. Casual workers are also known as non-418 employees, as they work continuously for the same employer for fewer than four weeks and/or fewer than 18 working hours per week.

Although the Hong Kong government has recently introduced various policies to alleviate poverty, the low public recurrent expenditure will not help improve the situation of these women. According to the latest figures from the Hospital Authority, patients must now wait an average of 70 and 68 weeks respectively to see an orthopaedic doctor and internist at a public hospital. Further, figures from the Social Welfare Department shows the average waiting time for Care-and-Attention places and Nursing Home places is 20 and 22 months respectively. Moreover, Oxfam calculated that on average, only 1 in 156 children aged 0 to 2 receive subsidised full-day childcare services. With insufficient public services available, carers in Hong Kong are placed at an even greater disadvantage.

To address these issues, Oxfam has the following recommendations for the Hong Kong government:

  • Spend additional recurrent expenditure on initiatives such as increasing the quota for occasional child care services, Care-and-Attention places and Nursing Home places for the elderly, and the public health care.
  • Improve labour protection and benefits, to ensure people who work can provide for themselves and their families, and live with dignity. The government, as the biggest employer, should also take lead and pay its workers a living wage, and amend the Employment Ordinance so that casual workers who work 72 hours a month are also protected.
  • In the long run, review the current tax system and implement ability-to-pay taxation in order to better redistribute resources, narrow the gap between the rich and poor, and create a more equitable society.

Together, we can transform more lives!

Give once Donate monthly

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容
消除不平等

社會上有三分之二的有薪照顧工作也由女性擔任。(相片:Katie G. Nelson / 樂施會)

助人自助 共建無窮世界

單次捐款 每月捐款

全球最富有的22位男性擁有的財富超出非洲所有女性財產總和
婦女無償照顧家庭被漠視  貧富差距驚人  不平等危機持續

樂施會在2020年瑞士達沃斯世界經濟論壇前夕發表最新報告,揭示現時全球有2,153名億萬富豪,他們所坐擁的財富比全球六成人口,即46億人的財富總和還要多。

全球經濟不平等已失控 貧窮婦女最受剝削

在過去十年,全球億萬富豪的人數增加了一倍,不平等問題亦愈趨牢固及嚴重。樂施會於2020年1月20日發表題為《Time to Care》(直面照料時代)的報告,指出我們這個充滿性別歧視的經濟體系如何加劇不平等危機 ── 讓富裕的精英們累積鉅量財富的同時,卻犧牲了一般人,特別是婦女和女童的權利。

  • 全球最富有的22位男性擁有的財富超出非洲所有女性財富的總和。
  • 全球婦女每天共花125億小時在無償照顧工作上,如以經濟效益計算,每年至少貢獻10.8萬億美元,產值規模超越全球科技行業三倍以上。
  • 只要全球最富裕1%人口,在未來10年,按其財富支付額外0.5%的稅款,所得款項足以在托兒、安老、教育和醫療等行業創造1.17億個就業機會。這能大大減輕婦女的照顧壓力,應對貧窮以至社會不平等的問題。


info graphics


「婦女在今天的經濟系統中,是得益最少的一群。她們花上過百億小時煮食、清潔、照顧孩童,看顧長者……無償照顧工作是確保我們的經濟、社會每天運作背後的引擎。可是,她們卻往往只有很少時間接受教育,難以賺取體面的生活,甚或對她們身處的社會沒有發言權,因而陷落經濟的底層。」印度樂施會總幹事Amitabh Behar說,他代表國際樂施會出席今年世界經濟論壇。

氣候變化和人口老化 令照顧者面對更大危機

婦女承擔了全球逾四分三的無償照顧工作,沉重的工作往往迫使她們要減少賺取收入的工作時數,甚至被摒棄於勞動市場。全球有42%適齡工作女性因為要承擔照顧工作而無法就業,面對同一情況的男性只有6%。

除了家庭中的無償照顧工作,社會上有三分之二的有薪照顧工作也由女性擔任。這些工種如托兒服務的保姆、家庭傭工、家務助理,不但需要大量體力和心力,更往往是低薪、欠缺僱傭福利,甚至沒有固定工時。
 
隨著全球人口增長及人口老化,令無論是無償或是有薪的照顧者,在未來十年面對的壓力均會增加。在2030年前,估計需要被照顧的人口將達23億,相對2015年的需求增加了兩億人。氣候變化令情況進一步惡化。例如,在2025年前,將有24億人所住的地區面臨缺水,婦女要走更遠的路去取得食水。 

改善公共服務 保障照顧者

同時,世界各地的政府對基本公共服務和基建的撥款不足,也令女性的工作重擔百上加斤。例如,在津巴布韋某些地區,如當地政府能在社區增加取水點,婦女一天能節省四小時的打水時間,一年就能節省兩個月。

各國政府製造了不平等危機,她們必須採取行動去解決,確保企業和鉅富承擔其應付的稅項,並增撥資源在公共服務上。女性肩負處理家務及照顧者的沉重責任,各地政府必須制訂政策去正視這個情況,並保證這些為社會作出重大貢獻的照顧者能夠獲得生活工資,過有尊嚴的生活。照顧作為一個一直被忽視的產業,相比其他社會經濟產業,更應該受到政府的優先重視,以建立一個更為人本的經濟,是為大眾,而非一小撮人創造利益的經濟。

*報告全文摘要及其研究方法(只有英文版),解釋了樂施會如何計算這些數字。
 
*樂施會的計算是基於可獲得的最新及最全面的數據來源。有關財富分布的數字,取自瑞信《全球財富數據手冊》2019,而鉅富資產的統計,則依據《福布斯》2019年度富豪榜。

共同分擔家務 改善婦女生計

photo

「丈夫幫忙照顧家庭,讓我們一家的關係更緊密、更開心,我跟孩子也更親近。」

羅薇納.阿貝歐
日間托兒保姆,菲律賓東薩馬省塞爾薩多鎮
 (相片:Jed Regala/樂施會
)


我叫羅薇納( Rowena),來自菲律賓塞爾薩多鎮(Salcedo Town),是一名日間托兒保姆。過去在我生活的社區,女人通常只在家裡幹活——做飯、打掃、照顧孩子,還要負責打水。男人比女人擁有更多的機會,而我們由於家務纏身,永遠無法趕上社區裡男人們的步伐。男女之間存在著種種差距——收入、教育程度,甚至包括可以花的時間。 

我在一所學校做日間托兒保姆已經十年了,同時我還是一名家庭主婦。其中最沉重的就是打水。因為住處遠離水源,所以我們(每天)都要帶著水罐,用三到四個小時往返河邊取水。

我丈夫以前完全不理家事,而我除了學校的工作外,還要做許多家務。但那時候我和丈夫對這個情況沒有任何質疑。後來我們參加了培訓和研討會,了解到無償照料工作,情況也因此發生了變化。現在,他總在家裡忙前忙後;尤其當我在學校工作時,他會幫忙做飯、洗衣服和打掃。  

在樂施會和SIKAT的幫助下,我們裝上了儲水箱,並終於有了水喉和水龍頭,再也不需要水罐和提桶了。我們現在打水時間大減,而在等水箱注滿時,還可以做其他工作。

不必獨自負擔所有家務活,也不必長途跋涉汲水,從此我像換了個人似的。現在我有更多時間為社區提供幫助。我們成立了一個「自助小組」(Self-Help Group),由街坊鄰裡中的婦女們組成。我們小組幫助村子打掃衛生,還在其他婦女參與的社區活動中提供幫助。在這裡,我們獲得了用於發展自身生計、為孩子繳納學費和以備不時之需的資金。

很多社區的婦女依然在掙扎維生,而我們這裡已經實現男女平等,婦女們有了更多的自主權,對此我由衷地感到高興。我希望這不止發生在塞爾薩多,而是能有一天遍及整個菲律賓。 

在本港貧窮住戶當中,女性勞動人口參與率只20.7%,遠低於男性的35.5% (相片:高仲明/壹周刊)

在本港貧窮住戶當中,女性勞動人口參與率只20.7%,遠低於男性的35.5%
(相片:高仲明/壹周刊)

香港貧富懸殊嚴重 照顧者首當其衝

在香港,貧富懸殊的情況同樣嚴重。

  • 2016年香港原住戶收入的堅尼系數為0.539,創45年來新高。
  • 根據《福布斯》雜誌在2019年《香港50大富豪排行榜》的數字,全港50名最富有的人總資產為港幣2.23萬億,比2016年8月的總資產值(1.89萬億)上升18%。

另一方面,卻仍有許多婦女因為家庭崗位的限制而陷入貧窮。

  • 在本港貧窮住戶當中,女性勞動人口參與率只20.7%,遠低於男性的35.5%,
  • 較一般住戶女性的勞動人口參與率50.8%低30.1百分點。
  • 而當女性貧窮住戶中有15歲以下和65歲以上的成員,女性勞動人口參與率更只有10.8%,很大程度反映女性因為需要照顧家人,未能外出工作。

港府應修補公共服務缺口 立法保障零散工 

家庭重擔令貧窮婦女無法投入勞動市場,或只能選擇做兼職,以致她們較多集中從事最低薪、無保障及零散的工作。然而,港府卻未能為她們提供足夠保障。目前僱員如為其僱主連續工作少於四星期及/或每星期工作少於18小時,便不屬於連續性僱傭合約,即「零散工」或俗稱非「4.18」僱員,無法享有僱傭福利,包括休息日、有薪法定假日、年假、有薪產假、疾病津貼、遣散費及長期服務金等。

雖然,港府近日推出各項扶貧政策,但公共經常性開支比例仍然偏低,無助於改善弱勢婦女的境況。現時本港公立醫院骨科及內科穩定新症輪候時間平均為70、及68個星期(即約一年四個月);護理安老院及護養院宿位的平均輪候時間分別為20及22個月;全港0至2歲的幼兒,每156名才有一名獲分配資助托管服務。公共服務資源投放不足,加重了照顧者的重擔。

樂施會對港府的建議: 

  • 額外增加的經常性開支可用於,增加資助托兒服務名額、長者資助宿位及日間護理服務名額,及公立醫療服務等公共服務;
  • 其次,政府有責任確保勞動有合理回報,讓在職人士有能力讓自己和家人過有尊嚴的生活。政府作為最大的僱主,應推動生活工資,並修訂「僱傭條例」,以全面保障從事「零散工」的從業員可享有法定勞工保障;
  • 長遠而言,政府應以「能者多付」原則檢討現時稅制,研究不同增加稅收的可行方案,從而加強再分配的功能,收窄貧富差距及社會不平等。

助人自助 共建無窮世界

單次捐款 每月捐款