Skip to main content
Start main content
DRC Ebola Crisis

Espoir Mahamba (Right), a public health promotor for Oxfam, speaks to a church congregation about Ebola, precautions to be taken and symptoms to look out for on 19 August 2018 in Mangina. Oxfam is working closely with local leaders and communities to stop the the spread of the virus with community engagement and through sanitation activities. (Photo: John Wessels/Oxfam)

 

Updated on 27 July 2018

The Situation

The latest outbreak of Ebola started in Equateur Province in the DRC May 2018. Since then, the economy has been badly hit and those living in poverty have been affected most. The Ebola virus claimed 33 lives, while there were 38 confirmed cases and 16 probable cases. As 42 days (two incubation periods) have passed since the last possible exposure to a confirmed Ebola virus disease case, the government announced the end of the outbreak in the DRC on 24 July 2018.

The quick and well-coordinated response from the health sector, the government, aid agencies and affected communities helped put an end to Ebola in just three months (May to July 2018). The sharing of knowledge has played a huge role in minimising the impact of this outbreak; lessons have clearly been learnt from the West Africa epidemic which claimed so many lives (the death toll reached 11,310). During the outbreak, HK$3.12 million was secured across the Oxfam confederation to fund its response.

Map

The latest Ebola outbreak spread to Bikoro, Iboko and Mbandaka in Equateur Province in the DRC.

 

Oxfam’s Response and Preventive Work

The Congolese government responded to the epidemic between May and July 2018. Since we at Oxfam have long been recognised for our expertise in water, sanitation and hygiene, we co-led this area of the response with UNICEF. As of 25 July 2018, we have reached 96,000 people in six zones, including Bikoro, Iboko and Mbandaka – in which cases have already been recorded – and three other high-risk zones. The key focuses of the response were on public health outreach and community engagement on the risks of Ebola and how to prevent transmission, which proved crucial to mitigating the spread of the disease. So far, we have:

  • Providing door-to-door information to 13,000 of the most vulnerable people.
  • Worked with communities (including local community radio stations, religious and traditional leaders) and carried out mass awareness activities, including film screenings.
  • Taught over 30,000 people how to improve hygiene and prevent the spread of Ebola.
  • Installed chlorinated water points in hospitals, health centres, schools and ports to help over 50,000 people get clean water from water points we have installed.
  • Helped to disinfect houses in which Ebola cases have been detected.
  • Providing disinfection kits and hygiene kits to communities.
  • Distributed ‘aqua tabs’ to over 800 homes, which provides them with access to clean water.
  • Provided direct food assistance to over a thousand individuals in affected households to enable them to cope with the impact of the epidemic (for those who were quarantined for three weeks).

The Ebola outbreak has seriously affected the livelihoods of the locals who live in a country that ranks among the poorest in the world. Oxfam is now planning to work with them to rebuild their livelihoods.

We can't walk away from the people whose lives have been hit hard by the crisis, or forget that the risk of future outbreaks remains high. As the country moves from red-alert to long-term response, some of the world's poorest people have been left even worse off by the fall in trade, farming, and hunting during the outbreak. What Ebola victims need now is support to rebuild their lives – more money, improved community awareness and better health systems would help the DRC fight off the virus now and in the future.

Oxfam’s humanitarian programme manager in the DRC, Tamba Emmanuel Danmbi-saan

 

Fighting Ebola with knowledge

The Ebola case-fatality rate and death rate remain higher than other diseases. The latest outbreak brought a huge threat to the DRC due to the high poverty rate in the country. The DRC still ranks as one of the poorest countries in the world, with 64 per cent of people there living under the poverty line*. Communities often lack clean water and hygiene facilities, as well as knowledge about Ebola prevention, which increases the population’s risk of contracting Ebola.

Local traditional practices also reduce the efficacy of disease control. Jose Barahona, Oxfam DRC Country Director, observed this and said: ‘Most people understand the situation and follow the advice provided; however, some people have doubts and worries about the epidemic. Some people don't believe in the Ebola virus or in the medication provided, others are afraid of it. Cases of people leaving hospitals and refusing care have been reported, which could have dramatic consequences. There are also some traditional practices concerning the handling and burial of dead bodies that can increase the risk of transmission after death.’

That is why Oxfam’s response focused on public health outreach and community engagement on the risks of Ebola and how to prevent transmission, which has proved crucial to mitigating the spread of the disease.

*Source: World Bank, Dec 2017

How do you get Ebola?

  1. Direct contact with body fluids of a person who is sick or has died from Ebola
  2. From objects contaminated with the virus
  3. By infected animals through direct contact with blood fluids or meat

Prevention

  1. Avoid direct contact with body fluids of infected people
  2. Wash hands regularly using soap and water
  3. Avoid direct contact with fruit bats
  4. Wear protective clothing
  5. Cremate bodies of deceased people

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容

剛果民主共和國:預防伊波拉病毒

剛果民主共和國:預防伊波拉病毒

Espoir Mahamba(右)負責公共衛生及健康推廣工作。她趁著當地人到教會聚會的時機,向會眾講解伊波拉病毒的病徵和預防方法。樂施會一直與當地的社區領袖和團體緊密合作,透過各種衛生及健康推廣活動,阻止病毒擴散。(攝影︰John Wessels / 樂施會)

 

更新於 2018年7月27日

現況

剛果民主共和國的赤道省(Équateur Province)在2018年5月爆發新一輪伊波拉疫情,重創當地經濟,貧窮人最受影響。病毒共造成33死,共有38個確診個案及16個懷疑感染個案。隨著當地已有42日沒有接獲新的確診病例,當局於2018年7月24日宣佈伊波拉疫情結束。

當疫情爆發期間(即2018年5至7月期間),衛生及醫療組織、政府、救援機構和受影響社區積極協調,終能在三個月內遏止疫情。汲取了2014年在西非諸國爆發的伊波拉疫症的經驗及教訓(該場疫症奪去了11,310人的性命),今次各方尤其著重抗疫知識的分享,成功控制了疫情。在病毒擴散期間,各地樂施會合共投入312萬港元以進行當地的人道工作。 

地圖

是次疫情在剛果民主共和國的赤道省比科羅、伊博科及姆達班卡爆發

 

樂施會的救援及預防伊波拉病毒的工作

是次疫情爆發期間(2018年5至7月),樂施會因為在食水及公共衛生方面的專長,被委派與聯合國兒童基金會共同領導這個領域的工作,參與政府統籌的救援工作。至2018年7月25日,我們在六個區域,包括比科羅、伊博科、地方姆班達卡及其餘三個高危地區,透過集中公共衛生宣傳、增強社區參與防治伊波拉病毒以及預防傳播,共支援了96,000人,有效減緩病毒傳播:

  • 逐戶上門向超過13,000名最貧窮而脆弱的人提供準確的防治伊波拉病毒資訊
  • 與社區不同群體合作(包括社區廣播電台、宗教和傳統領袖等),開展提升公眾衛生教育的宣傳活動,例如電影放映,加強宣傳公共衛生的資訊
  • 向超過30,000人提供改善衛生習慣的培訓,防止病毒蔓延
  • 在醫院、保健中心、學校和港口安裝氯化食水點,向超過50,000人提供清潔食水
  • 向社區派發消毒包和衛生用品包
  • 向超過800戶家庭派發「淨水丸」,供他們自行消毒食水
  • 協助發現伊波拉病例的居所進行消毒
  • 受病毒影響的家庭被強制隔離三星期,期間無法外出購買糧食,我們向當中逾千名被隔離人士派發應急糧食

剛果民主共和國本身已十分貧困,疫情進一步打擊當地人的生計;樂施會計劃支援受病毒影響人士重建生計,助他們儘早恢復日常生活。 

雖然剛果民主共和國宣佈新一輪伊波拉疫情結束,但是,是次疫情已嚴重打擊當地的貿易、農業和狩獵業,重創當地最貧窮的人。目前, 伊波拉患者及康復者急需更多資源,重建自己的生活,以提升社區預防病毒的知識,建立一個更好的醫療系統,對抗病毒的傳播

樂施會駐剛果民主共和國人道救援項目經理 Tamba Emmanuel Danmbi-saa

 

對抗伊波拉:從了解開始

 

伊波拉病發率和死亡率比其他病毒高,病毒在非洲剛果民主共和國再次爆發,對當地帶來極大的威脅。剛果民主共和國長期受衝突及戰禍所困,發展有限,在全球排列為低度發展國家,全國共64%人活在貧窮線下*,缺乏清潔食水及衛生設施,也欠缺相關疾病預防的資訊,因此,當疫情爆發時,當地人的感染風險更高。

當地的傳統風俗亦減慢了疫症控制的速度。據樂施會剛果民主共和國辦公室總監荷西•巴拉奧納(Jose Barahona)在當地的觀察,他說:「大部份人也明白疫情的嚴重性,也依指示保持個人衛生。但是,仍有部份人對疫情充滿懷疑,甚至不相信有伊波拉病毒,或不相信治療方法,有些人則恐懼治療,更有患者逃離醫院的情況,或堅持以傳統儀式處理屍體(於喪禮前把屍體停放家中),這都大大增加病毒傳播的風險。」

因此,樂施會從控制疫情的根源著手,救援工作集中在公共衛生宣傳、增強社區參與防治伊波拉病毒,以及預防病毒傳播等方面。

註:資料來源:世界銀行2017年12月的最新數據

傳播途徑

  1. 直接接觸感染或死於伊波拉病毒的人的體液、血液、分泌物、排泄物
  2. 接觸過患者血液或體液的物品
  3. 3密切接觸受感染動物的血液、分泌物、器官或其他體液

預防方法

  1. 避免接觸患者的血液和體液
  2. 注重個人和環境衛生;在接觸眼、鼻及口前切記先以梘液或酒精搓手液清潔雙手
  3. 避免接觸果蝠
  4. 穿防護服
  5. 火化死者遺體